SALIDO Spotlight July 2017

Ryan Straus
SALIDO Digest
Published in
5 min readJul 24, 2017

No matter the time of day, you will rarely walk into the SALIDO office empty. Whether it’s a support member staying late to help a bartender close out a tricky check or an engineer in extra early to push a new update out the door; our team is pretty fantastic and everyone truly cares.

Every month we’re going to take the time to share who the great individuals are that are working so hard behind the curtain. You need the best team in order to build the first ever rOS (restaurant operating system.) We have some truly passionate, talented, smart individuals and together we’re going to solve some big problems for the hospitality industry.

This month we’ll put the SALIDO Spotlight on our interns. They do so much for us and we’re so happy to have them this summer.

SALIDO summer interns 2017

Name: Ben Drescher

Hometown: Plantation, Florida

College Attending: University of Florida

Major: Industrial and Systems Engineering

How do you contribute and help the SALIDO team? I’ve assisted Christian and Ernie in creating better process flows between the different teams at SALIDO. I analyzed the support history of multiple SALIDO customers and how successful we were at fulfilling their requests. I also helped create the SALIDO New Employee Handbook along with my fellow interns, Michelle and Roberta.

What are the most valuable skills you have learned so far at the SALIDO offices? I have learned the importance of communication and constantly informing team members about the status of projects. I now know that having everyone on the same page is crucial for a company to move forward and be successful. I have also learned to create set processes for problem solving which allows me to find solutions in an efficient and effective manner.

What is your favorite place to get lunch in the neighborhood? My favorite place to grab lunch is Taim.

What is your favorite perk about interning at SALIDO? The best thing about interning at SALIDO is the ability to learn from the incredibly talented team members across all of the departments. No other internship would allow me to be involved with the Product, Business Operations and Customer Experience teams all at once!

How do you think SALIDO will change the future for the hospitality industry? I think SALIDO will become the first company to successfully combine innovative restaurant technology with hospitality industry know-how. This combination will drive SALIDO to become the first true Restaurant Operating System that will forever change the hospitality industry.

Name: Michelle Haut

Hometown: Purchase, NY

College Attending: Washington University in St. Louis

Major: Environmental Policy

How do you contribute and help the SALIDO team? So far at SALIDO, I have contributed to and helped the team by doing research for the development of a program for future hires and recruits that join the SALIDO team. In addition, I have conducted market research to further understand the needs of the restaurant industry. I have also been trained by the CX and Support teams so that I am able to navigate and successfully use the Bridge and POS system, whether it is to help set up a menu for a potential client or adjust certain settings for a live location. I am always willing to help other teams and see how SALIDO continues to adapt to its rapid growth.

What are the most valuable skills you have learned so far at the SALIDO offices? I have learned many valuable skills at SALIDO as I have been able to work with so many different aspects of the company. One skill that I have learned is time management. When you effectively control your time, you maximize the opportunities presented at hand. Time management stems from firm processes. With the correct processes and skills in place, tasks can be completed more efficiently and effectively in the company to guarantee higher satisfaction among customers and team members.

What is your favorite place to get lunch in the neighborhood? My favorite place to get lunch in the neighborhood is OPPA in the Canal Street market, specifically their Bulgogi Beef Bibimbap, with a scoop of Davey’s ice cream for dessert, of course!

What is your favorite perk about interning at SALIDO? My favorite perk about interning at SALIDO is being able to go on site to different restaurants for either troubleshooting or an install. I have always been a foodie, so being able to go to all these different restaurants is extremely exciting to me. Another perk I have enjoyed at SALIDO is being able to share so many interests with multiple people in the office, making it an extremely welcoming and delightful place to work.

How do you think SALIDO will change the future for the hospitality industry? I think SALIDO will revolutionize the future of the hospitality industry. The deliverables that SALIDO promises will streamline all restaurant functions, such as POS, labor management, inventory and customer relations management. The ability to have all these assets and metrics in the same refined, customizable app will allow restaurants to be able to easily access all the information about their ongoing operations to ensure success.

Name: Roberta Samuel

Hometown: New York City

College Attending: Barnard College

Major: European History

How do you contribute and help the SALIDO team? I have done research about the restaurant industry as a whole and learned about SALIDO’s product. After learning about the industry and the thought process that went into making SALIDO’s POS system I contributed to the creation of the on boarding deck that will be used in future hiring cycles. I have used the POS system firsthand while helping the CX team give demos to potential clients and supporting our existing clients. I’ve enjoyed being pulled in by different teams because it’s exposed me to the hard work that goes into building a product and a company.

What are the most valuable skills you have learned so far at the SALIDO offices? The most important lesson I’ve learned at SALIDO thus far is how important it is to take initiative. At a startup, where resources are limited, identifying an issue and taking the steps to correct it goes such a long way for the respective department and the company as a whole. At SALIDO I’ve learned through observing the what hard work can accomplish because everyday I see everyone putting in the time and effort to make ideas a reality. I’m inspired by everyone’s passion and dedication to each other and SALIDO as a company.

What is your favorite place to get lunch in the neighborhood? Birdbath or Nom Wah at Canal Street Market.

What is your favorite perk about interning at SALIDO? I’ve loved getting to know everyone at SALIDO and I’m also a big fan of team lunches on Wednesday!

How do you think SALIDO will change the future for the hospitality industry? SALIDO is leveraging technology and data in a way that the hospitality industry hasn’t seen before in a user friendly way. There is so much expertise across the company which means each detail has been thoughtfully conceptualized and created. I look forward to following SALIDO’s growth and seeing what the team accomplishes!

Ben, Michelle, Roberta

--

--