Landie & Christiaan’s Transalpine Epic

Part 1: Day 1 & 2

Salomon Running
Salomon Running
4 min readSep 27, 2015

--

Landie & Christiaan Greyling, in the thick of it during the Transalpine Run. Photo: Philipp Reiter

Mentally and physically drained, struggling to breathe and unable to focus on the digits of my Suunto Ambit, tapping the absolute last bit of energy, we soon hear the very famliar sound of the noon churchbells and the supporters with their cow bells we have become so acquainted with upon entering a village, the cheerful voice of the ever enthusiastic commentator.

At last, we have reached the final kilometre of the 2015 Goretex Transalpine run. Controlling our emotions becomes virtually impossible as we make our way into the finish hall in the village of Sulden, with hundreds of supporters roaring us on towards the finish line. Every feeling experienced in the last 192 hours, is relived in this final moment.

Day 1 — Landie’s view

Oberstdorf (Germany) to Lech (Austria) 34,8 km & 2033m Ascent

Stage 1 Profile

Our fairy-tale race did not quite start as I imagined. I woke up with severe abdominal pain and most certainly not the “butterfly” kind… Butterflies would have been quite normal, considering that this was after all the biggest challenge of my running career. But I just had this “gut” (no pun intended) feeling that it was more than nerves. Nevertheless, we lined up at the start at Oberstdorf Haus with 700 other enthusiastic and blissfully ignorant runners, including 4 other South African teams. I thought the cramps would ease up with a little warm-up jog, but to no avail. The pain was so intense that I found myself frantically asking for cramp relief tablets at the medical tent 10 minutes before the start. Now my only hope was that the aches would magically disappear once the gun goes…

Landie looking comfortable on stage 1. Photo: Philipp Reiter

We were set off at 10am sharp and pushed hard in the first 3 kilometres with the lead bunch. Unfortunately, the cramps just seemed to become more intense the further we ran, and I have to admit, I did panic a little inside. We were forced to adjust our game-plan for stage 1 and it was heart-breaking to see 5 mixed teams pass us in the next 5 kilometres. The rest of the stage was merely a fight for survival. But the really gloomy part was that I was unable to enjoy doing what I love so much, unable to enjoy the picturesque alpine scenery and every kilometre turned into a combat of cramps. Fortunately our technical skills came to the rescue in the latter part of the stage and even with my handicap, we managed to pass many of the mixed teams again on the long downhill single track and miraculously finished the stage as the 2nd mixed team, 8 minutes behind the leaders, team Tuga Wear from Spain.

Day 2 — Christiaan’s view

Lech (Austria) to St Anton (Austria) 24,7km & 1889m Ascent

Stage 2 Profile

Our splendidly comfortable lodging 500m from the start of the stage in the charming little ski town of Lech set the scene for quite a relaxed morning. Instead, we were rather concerned with Landie’s unchanged health condition and the major climb straight into stage 2!

To bring this stage into perspective: We had to climb mountains with just over 1800m ascent, all in the first 17km, making this the hardest 25km we have done to date, with an average incline of approximately 11%. We both used hiking poles during this stage to ease the effort on our legs and once we got the hang of it (there is quite a technique to using them effectively), I especially found the European way of climbing very efficient.

Landie & Christiaan dig deep on stage 2. Photo: Philipp Reiter

We were the first mixed team to reach the foot of the climb after the first couple of road kilometres. But soon, our handicap became reality again as we saw all the top mixed teams pass us as we struggled our way to the top, pushing Landie wherever I can.

This was one of the moments in the Transalpine run where I truly doubted in our ability to podium in this event. We eventually did finish 4th in the stage, but I will never forget Landie’s words afterwards:

“I think this was my last stage; I have given everything I had…!” Our dreams and goals suddenly seemed so far away!

--

--