Free-Form | Anina Rubio

Ariana Ortega
Salon Store PH
Published in
2 min readNov 28, 2016

If there were a moniker for excellence in free-form calligraphy, Anina Rubio would be it. Anina has been making a name for herself as a visual media artist and calligrapher by trade. Anina is also a brand ambassador for Zig Kuretake (a brand of high quality Japanese stationery and brush pens) as well as a social media influencer for other brands.

Currently, she shares her knowledge by teaching calligraphy and watercolor painting both abroad and in the Philippines. Salon Store asked Anina to share a few of her thoughts on her life and her own style in regards to art, fashion, and beauty.

“Finding a personal style is like a roller coaster ride. Initially I pegged myself to be a combination of all the artists I look up to; until I had to evolve and let go, and come up with my own style.” She shared, giving her experiences about finding her own art style. “I had to study, learn, fail, and experiment until I found an art style that I am comfortable doing.”

Hair by Piandre Salon | Color by Lakme Philippines

While Anina has found her own footing, she still believes in continuously exploring. “It’s still a continuous evolution process, to be honest. There is always room for improvement and innovation.”

Whether it be through fashion or visual art, Anina’s style is all her own. “I combined my nature paintings with my own freestyle handwriting, making my work more organic and close to heart.” She explains.

Her personal style, however, is a stark contrast to her own creations. The works showcased by the film — which Anina herself co-produced — , “Sakaling Hindi Makarating” is bright and colorful, creating a scenery with vibrant colors and textures. “It’s an irony in reality,” she says, “because my works are always colorful but my fashion style is just black or white.”

Through her experiences, Anina has learned to embrace her individuality. “Having an individual style is branding,” She shares,”and it identifies you from everyone else.”

Anina continues to look forward and share her art. The film “Sakaling Hindi Makarating” comes out in theaters nationwide on February 2017.

--

--

Ariana Ortega
Salon Store PH

A twenty-something minimalist living southwards of the metro. Loves cute things, unhealthy food, and is attracted to shiny objects.