Dan
Salt and spice
Published in
2 min readNov 12, 2015

--

Coffee, good? Good coffee!

I like most edible things, I can’t really think of anything that I wouldn’t try and truthfully I find it hard to think of a dish I actively avoid. I have been described as a human dustbin, and although I dislike the wording I cant deny it has some truth.

That being said, I do have preferences and I was raised a tea drinker. Even by English standards i drink a lot of tea. Not that I have ever disliked coffee, and not to say I haven’t ordered coffee over tea before. But for me it was tea. Coffee seemed like something for other people. I liked it, but the fact people refer to themselves as ‘coffee snobs’ and that spending £5 on a drink from a mega chain was something to flaunt left a bitter taste in my mouth.

Then 3 months ago I passed eds coffee house. Eds is located in coventry market on toward the center. Ed stocked brickies, a little Greek coffee pot for making traditional coffee. That’s where our conversation began, my Greek companion was amazed — she had to order hers from amazon, ed had 3 different sizes in two colours.

On this blog we try to only put what we humbley consider ‘good’ so our reviews are usually positive and the people we review are usually passionate about the craft. So I hope you believe me when I say ed knows his coffee, ed really really knows his coffee.

Within 5 minutes of talking to him it was clear I had been unfair to coffee. He led me by the nose on a guided tour of the distinct differences of different beans. He knew the story (and I love a good story) of all of the coffees, and had a recommendation or three for every flavour my humble palette could describe. Ed is the wonker of coffee.

Its clear talking to him (and I really suggest you do go and talk to him) that this is what coffee could and should be. A simple hot drink, with a world of nuance. Nuance on par with wine or olive oil.

After a few trips I now own a French press (auto correct doesn’t know cafetierre) an espresso machine, the traditional Greek bricky and I’ve tried at least 10 different types of coffee.

Its clear to me now that as with so much in the world of food, coffee is at its best when its fresh, when its made simply and when its made with passion. Ed sells some 40 odd types of bean, which he will grind for you there and then however you like. In quantities small enough that you can afford to try a few different things, and I suggest you do.

Ed’s is located in the Coventry market, the first ring from the center.

--

--

Dan
Salt and spice

Reviewing the diverse and sometimes fantastic food and restaurants in Coventry, because no one else has.