Sestina for Spring 2020

Missy Lyman
Salt Flats
Published in
2 min readApr 11, 2020

I have never been one for tradition.

Easter parties, silly, stuffy crowded

gardens, tasting cookies, having awkward

conversation makes me wonder how long

before I can go home. I flinch. Children

race past shrieking, playing. I leave alone

grateful for the quiet. Today alone,

strange new virus interrupts tradition.

Stuck at home. I guess I’ll call the children

pretend I am visiting their crowded

homes on video. I wonder how long

until life is normal. I feel awkward

with the lag, frozen faces laugh awkwardly.

“It’s nice to hear your voice,” I say alone

in my apartment, realize I long

to go to weddings, honor tradition

sweating in a metal chair on crowded

football field in the sun watching children

realize they are no longer children.

Give me a picnic, messy and awkward.

I’d run an egg hunt just to see the crowd’s

pastel dresses. I’d watch it all alone

from sidelines, upholding the tradition.

Clock ticks on warping time as days grow long.

Solitude rots. Despite myself I long

for Easter parties, rough hugs from children.

Worn-out speeches, faded with tradition,

seem refreshing. Now I welcome awkward.

“No, I’ll stay home. I’d rather be alone,”

I used to say. “It seems there’ll be a crowd.”

Now I dream of crowds of rowdy children,

fantasize about a long and awkward

talk. Alone I stew in my tradition.

Photo by Laurentiu Iordache on Unsplash

--

--