tracks and tangelos

Rebecca Robertson
Salt Flats
Published in
2 min readApr 26, 2021

I went to the track today
not because we used to go together
but because I had time
and they say it’s good for me.

Dropped my sweatshirt
stepped onto the track
looked down to untangle my headphones
looked up into your deep-down eyes.

You say hi for months
I swallow and don’t fall over

We run together
not because we should
but because we’re here
and we know all the ruts in this track.

So here we are:
you with your shiny new iPod
me with my shiny new plans
but it’s still my same old shirt
your same old shoes

We pound around this track
over and over and over

When we’re through
I’m flushed, sweating
my hair is crazy, my legs are hairy, my makeup is gone
But you still look at me with your deep-down eyes.

So here I am:
eating this tangelo
not because I like it
but because it looked like adventure
and they say it’s good for me.

I keep chewing the tasteless pulp
over and over and over

The juice drips
soaking my hands, legs, feet as I clumsily peel it
slipping into the paper cut on my pinky finger
that I forgot was there

It stings
over and over and over

--

--

Rebecca Robertson
Salt Flats

Screenwriter and YA author. Lover of chocolate milk and super hero movies.