Wading Into Water Deep

Liz Christensen
Salt Flats
Published in
1 min readApr 20, 2021

I met you with my toes
We conversed up to my ankles
Wading further
Up to my knees in anticipation
Not saying we should hold our breath
Take any sort of plunge
I’m not the type to dive right in
But you whet my appetite
I want to explore you deeper

Every step brings tingles and chills
Submerging slowly
Those tenuous moments of hesitation and bravery
Between thighs and waist
It’s safe to stop here
Enveloped by halves
Rolling gently against my mid-section
But further still, I quake again
Immersing my ribs and chest
Giving myself over to the deluge of your sensations

The clear, pure honesty of you washing over me
My heart completely engulfed
My head, the last to surrender
I keep my mind clear above the waterline of
Full commitment to swim
Until I’ve acclimated a little
Until I’ve decided
Surrounded by you as I am is
Comfortable
Refreshing
Buoyant
Safe
Overflow this final boundary
When I break the surface to breathe
When I see clearly again
It won’t matter if memories of you trickle down my hair
Or from my eyes

For more, visit lizzylizzyliz.com

--

--