Repentance Psalm 1

Joshua Clement
SALT Blog
1 min readJul 7, 2016

--

Let my prayer be honest, let it be from the heart. I say to my heart “Do not wander!” To you, oh Lord, I turn my eyes.

Even now, I am sleepy from the world. My eyes are heavy and my heart does not feel. It is because of my sins that I have become numb. It is because of my willfulness that I have forgotten your face.

Does a child willingly starve or is the child happy when wounded? Then why do I turn away from you? Not once, oh Lord, have you turned away from me. Not once have you failed to love me. You are faithful and loving.

You alone are worthy.

You lifted me from the depths and have saved me from drowning.

You have bound my wounds with kindness and hope.

You have taught me that even your rebukes are life-giving!

Even though I stumble and falter, and though my heart has grown cold, You, oh God, are my hope and my light.

Do not leave your servant alone.

I wait for you, for only you can help me.

--

--