The Narrow Road

Joshua Clement
SALT Blog
1 min readJul 8, 2016

--

The Lord showed me a road at the end of a valley that I had come to, it began where the valley ended. There was no way through the steep closing of the mountains and no way around but by this road.

It was a narrow road. (ref. Matthew 7:13–14)

The only road. (ref. John 14:6)

I looked and I was astonished at how narrow this road was. The very sight of it called my heart to pray for help, for surely, I could carry nothing else with me on this road.

Then the Lord said to me, “Your desire to be with me must be greater than your desire for anything else.” (ref. Luke 12:27, Rev. 2:4–5)

So I set my foot upon this road, praying a prayer that countless have prayed before me, “Not by strength, nor by might, but only by your Spirit (ref. Zachariah 4:6) can I make it. Please help me to desire you alone and let me not be divided from seeking you. (ref. Psalm 86:11, Psalm 62:1) Oh Lord, deliver me, for you alone are my God, my Rock, and my Deliverer.” (ref. Psalm 25:15, 2 Chronicles 20:12)

--

--