Quenching The Fires That Burn

When There Seems Nothing To Say

Narelle Carter-Quinlan
Saltwater Songlines
1 min readAug 23, 2019

--

Image by Author

I don’t know what to say.

Fire

The Amazon

Siberia

My Heart, and probably yours

Our Earth.

And all I can do is walk and write and hold light and space and make images. All I can do is call on the Elders and Ancestors of us all, Gaia Herself, and Love. All I can do is join with all of You, and breathe together. Not knowing. Only holding each other and the preciousness of everything.

The sound of running creeks and rivers.

The breath of breeze in ferns and palms.

The rays of sunlight.

The bird calls and the understory scrumblings.

The green.

Our forests,

Burning.

No words

Just presence.

I make images and write words because it is sometimes all I can do.

I walk in the Land, breathing, witnessing, experiencing

All That Is.

More Songlined images and words can be found on my online littoral zone at embodiedterrain

--

--

Narelle Carter-Quinlan
Saltwater Songlines

Foundress Saltwater Songlines Project. Woman of the Sea. Walker of Songlines. Photographer, Filmmaker, Storyteller.