Registered Dietitian Nutritionist Day 2017

Gaby McPherson
Our Fodder
Published in
5 min readMar 9, 2017

What is a Registered Dietitian Nutritionist?

Today is “Registered Dietitian Nutritionist(RDN) Day.” RDNs all over the U.S. are celebrated for their commitments to helping patients and clients in the communities make positive lifestyle changes. RDNs are the food experts who use evidenced based practices to help patients improve their health statuses. Since the healthy eating movement swept the nation, RDNs have had new opportunities to work in more and more diverse settings. Thank God.

“Registered Dietitian Nutritionists work throughout the community in hospitals, schools, public health clinics, nursing homes, fitness centers, food management, food industry, universities, research and private practice.” — eatright.org

With today also being Internation Women’s Day, I wanted to showcase some amazing young women who are also RDNs and very passionate about nutrition. Each of them have very unique, valuble, and impactful roles in the nutrition field.

Shelby Hawkins MS, RD, CSP, LD

Shelby is a Clinical Dietitian at the Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital in Houston, Texas. She is commited to children born with short bowel syndrome and children needing liver transplants. As a valued member of the healthcare team, Shelby is responsible for monitoring total parenteral nutrition (TPN) and tube feedings which may be the primary way these kiddos are nourished.

“What I love about my job is that I get to watch these kids overcome such incredible obstacles and see them thrive as they get older. I love seeing how resilient these children are and how much they are able to grow and mature. I also love how much faith the doctor I work with has in me, and in general my hospital truly values and trusts the opinion of the dietitian.”

Shannon Ebron MS, RD, LD

Shannon is the Child Nutritionist/Dietitian of the School Breakfast & Lunch program (Child Nutrition Services) at Ritenour School District in St. Louis, MO. Primarily, she handles school nutrition education, menu planning, food intolerances, allergies, and other health conditions, grant development and management, food service personnel professional development, program marketing, and social media management.

“I am passionate about my job because I am helping to decrease food insecurity among children. Also, school breakfast and lunch are an awesome opportunity to teach lifelong healthy eating patterns.My favorite part is watching the children develop a taste for fresh fruits and vegetables, international foods, and non-traditional food parings. My nutrition philosophy is all foods fit.”

Jennifer Street MS, RD, LD

Jen is a Registered Dietitian at McCallum Place Eating Disorder Center in St. Louis, MO. She works with clients who struggle with Anorexia Nervosa, Bulimia, and Binge Eating Disorder.

“My favorite part about it is clearing up the food myths that the clients believe and try to incorporate a balanced and overall healthy diet. I am passionate about healthy eating but also spreading the word that all foods fit into a healthy diet!”

Amye O’Neal DTR

Amye is a Nutritionist who works for the Aramark dining program at St. Louis University. Amye promotes wellness by exposing students to topics ranging from whole grains to mindful eating strategies. She recently dressed as a “SuperSalad” to promote the special salad marketed to students. Working with chefs on menu development and revision to meet student body’s needs and demands is another job responsibility for Amye. For students who are allergic or have sensitivities to certain foods (ie gluten), Amye provides guidance on best options from the dining program.

“In general, I enjoy what I do. I especially love developing events and programs with chefs and SLU departments. Some of the challenges I encounter are promoting the “Healthy for You” options available in our dining halls. Believe it or not, it is difficult to convey messages about the options we have. Students are busy and have “side-blinders” so I’m constantly thinking of new ways to reach our college-age students using a cost-effective method.”

Blair Baron

Blair is a WIC Nutritionist at a community health center in St. Louis, MO. She is commited to serving pregnant women, infants, and children under 5 years old at nutritional risk. She provides nutrition counseling and education.

“I am passionate for my job because I feel that every day I am making a difference to people who may not have known any better if it hadn’t been for me educating them, for instance as routine and simple as it can seem, some people make formula improperly which puts the baby at risk for malnutrition and even possible water intoxication. The clients are typically very responsive and appreciative of the time I take to go through things with them. I like developing rapport with people I otherwise may not have met. This helps open me up to a wider perspective and to the barriers people in my community face on a daily basis. And last but not least, who could not love a job where they get to see newborns consistently!”

--

--