Who does God love?

What a child can teach us about God and love

Sam Radford
Being Human
Published in
1 min readAug 22, 2016

--

I’d just finished reading Eloise, my seven year-old daughter, her bedtime story last night when she started to sing a little made-up song softly in my ear. It went like this:

God loves Daddy.
God loves Mummy.
God loves Eloise.
God loves Imogen.
God loves Molly (our dog).
God loves everyone.

It made me so happy. No, not that I was top of the list! But that she cannot fathom the idea of a God whose love doesn’t include everyone.

No one is outside of the love of God.

I hope she never loses this. Whatever layers of theological understanding get added throughout her life, I pray this foundation is never lost.

Tragically, all too often, religion ends up taking sides.

Us or them.
In or out.
Believer or non-believer.

Not for Eloise: rich or poor, black or white, Christian or Muslim, gay or straight—it makes no difference in her simple understanding that, if God is love, that love would have no boundaries.

To make sure you never miss one of my daily posts subscribe to my Apple News channel or sign up for my daily email.

Image: Jared EronduIceland

--

--

Sam Radford
Being Human

Husband, father, writer, Apple geek, sports fan, pragmatic idealist. I write in order to understand.