Perfectionism

Two powerful quotes from ‘Big Magic’ by Elizabeth Gilbert:

Sam Radford
Being Human
1 min readOct 9, 2015

--

“I think perfectionism is just a high-end, haute couture version of fear. I think perfectionism is just fear in fancy shoes and a mink coat, pretending to be elegant when actually it’s just terrified. Because underneath that shiny veneer, perfectionism is nothing more than a deep existential angst that say, again and again, “I am not good enough and I will never be good enough.”

“We must understand that the drive for perfection is a corrosive waste of time, because nothing is ever beyond criticism. No matter how many hours you spend attempting to render something flawless. somebody will always be able to find fault with it.”

--

--

Sam Radford
Being Human

Husband, father, writer, Apple geek, sports fan, pragmatic idealist. I write in order to understand.