Weekly newsletter

Articles to kickstart your weekend

Sam Radford
Being Human

Newsletter

3 min readJun 18, 2016

--

Image: Jake Melara

It’s the weekend! And what better way to kick it off than with some great articles to read?

THIS WEEK AT BEING HUMAN

WEEKEND PICKS

  1. Are women afraid of being brave? Elizabeth Day says too many girls don’t see themselves as brave or adventurous and that taking risks shouldn’t just be a man’s game. The world will never be equal unless we encourage girls to reach for the monkey-bars and jump headfirst into the unknown. So the next time you’re about to compliment a woman on how nice she looks, why don’t you try calling her brave instead?
  2. Stylist magazine shares a collection of modern perspectives on marriage at a time when marriage has become thought of as old-fashioned. When I do finally marry, the most special people in the world to me will be there. I still want champagne and lobster, but the occasion will be solemn. I’ll give the day the gravitas it deserves. I now realise marriage isn’t something you commit to once — you do it daily, over and over.
  3. It’s father’s day this weekend and Austin Kleon has written a wonderful short piece entitled, ‘What did you make today, papa?’. Sunday will be my fourth father’s day and I’m still learning and I still feel like he’s teaching me more than I’m teaching him. He’s asking me all the questions I should be asking myself.
  4. Tara Morh offers three great pieces of advice to writers (and to anyone creating anything). The creative process is designed to evolve the creator. That is what it is for. As a fabulous secondary benefit, when it does that, it also sometimes enriches the world.
  5. In their last leader before the EU referendum, The Economist argues that a vote to leave the European Union would diminish both Britain and Europe. [The EU] is an imperfect, at times maddening club. But it is far better than the alternative. We believe that leaving would be a terrible error. It would weaken Europe and would impoverish and diminish Britain.

FROM THE ARCHIVES

This interview with the freelance writer Kate Portman is full of wisdom and insight. She talks about why she quit her job to go freelance, her love of writing, developing her craft, and offers some advice for the rest of us. In part two she also talks about having the right people around her, life as a working Mum, the mis-treatment of women, and what she looks for in a good TV series.

That’s it for this week — thanks for reading!

Enjoy your weekend,
–Sam

--

--

Sam Radford
Being Human

Husband, father, writer, Apple geek, sports fan, pragmatic idealist. I write in order to understand.