Canada and Mexico- 2 Years, 2 Destinations

Samantha Tamplin
Samantha Tamplin
Published in
2 min readJan 28, 2019

The past two years, I have had the privilege of starting the new year in a place other than America.

In 2018, I was part of a class that travelled down to the Arizona-Mexico border in Nogales, Sonora Mexico. The trip was part of a Sidewalk-U class that I took through the EKU Honors Program and was from January 8–12, 2018. On the trip, my classmates and I were able to experience a wide variety of cultural and political aspects of Mexico and gain a broader perspective on the country and our relations to it as a whole. We worked with organizations such as a children’s facility known as HEPAC, the Arizona police department, a factory, a shelter for deported migrants, a Mexican university and many other amazing organizations that allowed us to truly experience what life was like down at our Southern borderlands.

Similarly, in 2019, I embarked on another journey across the border, only this time, I went north. A couple of my devoted friends and I took a few-day trip to Toronto, Ontario Canada on January 2–6. On this trip, our small group’s aim was mainly to tour the city, see the sights, and have a good time before we all started up school again for the Spring semester at different colleges. We toured areas such as Lake Erie and Lake Ontario, the AGO art museum in Toronto, the CN tower, and of course, the Canada side of Niagra Falls. We ate local food, experienced the lessened, but still notable difference in culture there, and had an all-around great time.

I hope to ring in 2020 with as much fun and enlightenment as the past two years have allowed me.

Above is a timeline of the events of my two trips.

--

--