“Despite growing up with Dutch influences, it was a big culture shock”

Ahzaad talks about being a Dutch Pakistani

Olga Helmigh
sambyhan
2 min readNov 20, 2019

--

It is the ‘Week of the International Student’ and SAM asks students from all over the world who study at the HAN: where are you from and why are you here? Today: Ahzaad.

Who: Ahzaad Khaliq (21)
From:
Multan, Pakistan
Studies:
Communication
Here since:
2,5 years

“Travelling and being internationally minded is in my blood. My father was in the military, so we moved around a lot in Pakistan. We also learned to speak three different dialects besides Urdu and English and Dutch. My mom is a Dutch Pakistani: she is from a Pakistani family, but was raised in The Netherlands. I was born here, but we moved to Pakistan when I was three years old. Having a Dutch mom and a Dutch passport inspired me to study here once I finished high school. I was curious about my roots, and I already spoke the language a little bit.”

Supportive attitude
“Despite growing up with those Dutch influences, it was a big culture shock when I arrived here. One of the first things I saw when I landed at the airport, was a woman who was smoking a cigarette. In Pakistan that is not a common thing. I also went to an all-boys boarding school, so to be surrounded by so many girls and having boys and girls mix everywhere, was new to me. There is a lot less social pressure than in Pakistan, where it’s normal to get into each other’s business. If you stand out or make less traditional choices, you will hear about it, or people will talk about it behind your back. There is a more supportive attitude in Holland. Because of that, I feel like I can truly be myself.”

Tight connection
“What I love about the HAN, is that the international students really form a community. I have friends who go to the University of Amsterdam and Rotterdam, and they don’t have that tight connection with the other international students. We have a lot of events and gatherings, live closely together and the school makes sure there are plenty of opportunities to bond, connect and help each other.”

Freedom
“What I miss about Pakistan? The food and the sun. Luckily I return to Pakistan every summer, to load up on lovely meals and great weather. And of course to hug my mother. She misses her only son very much. And yes, of course I miss her too. But I also love my experience away from home, in total freedom.”

--

--

Olga Helmigh
sambyhan

Journalist met focus op human interest, cultuur, onderwijs en media. Redacteur bij SAM, het journalistieke medium van de Hogeschool Arnhem & Nijmegen.