Homesickness

Sam Chou
Cogito, ergo sum
Published in
2 min readOct 25, 2018

I have been staying outside of Taiwan for two years and have traveled around some countries. I started to reflect on my time in Taiwan, trying to deeply understand myself and my hometown again through other people’s different perspectives.

I have listened to many foreigners’ feelings about Taiwan in their eyes. This time, I interpreted Taiwan through people from China. After I watched the videos below, I realized that I did not know Taiwan that well, and I took everything for granted in the past.

  1. 中国游客眼中的台湾之美 (I like 59 points about Taiwan, start from 2:50)
  2. 中國大陸交換學生怎麼看臺灣?
  3. 大陸人在台灣
  4. 台湾旅拍VLOG
  5. 陸媒專刊介紹:台灣最美風景是「人」

I appreciate that they enjoyed Taiwan and had a great time there in general, and I found an insightful comment under one of the videos:

  • 台灣有三寶:勞保、健保、吃到飽(全民健保制度,世界先進國家都到台灣取經)
  • 台灣有四多:TAXI、超商、夜市、志工多(便利超商功能及密度;全世界第一)
  • 台灣有五好:環境、服務、醫療、治安、心態好。
  • 「醫(藥)療品質、技術,亞洲第一 全球第三」、台灣的工程品質、台灣人的公德心、友善、人文素養;台灣人的志工密度世界第一(義警、義交、義消、學校導護媽媽、宗教慈善團體、學生的假日志工等…)
  • Taiwan has three treasures: labor insurance, health insurance, and be full. (Many countries have come to Taiwan to learn the health insurance system)
  • Taiwan has “four more”: Taxi, 7–11, night market, and volunteers. (Convenient stores are everywhere in Taiwan)
  • Taiwan has five good factors: environment, service, medical care, little crime, and people’s right mentality.
  • Medical (medicine) quality, technology, Asia’s first global third”, Taiwan’s engineering quality, people’s civic virtue, friendliness, humanistic qualities; Taiwan’s volunteer density is number one in the world (volunteer police, volunteer traffic police, volunteer firefighter, guidance mothers at school, religious charities, volunteer teacher at school, etc.)

I believe there are still lots of room to improve the insurance system, welfare, and government in Taiwan. However, I do agree that the overall environment and ambiance created by Taiwanese are positive and comfortable.

How can we improve our society?
Everyone can have more positive thinking, which leads to better behavior and action. Then the good thought will spread to society and indirectly develop
a more livable environment.
We can also use the SAM framework to optimize ourselves.
S: See ourselves from others’ perspective
A: Adjust ourselves and effort
M: Measure the positive impacts

--

--

Sam Chou
Cogito, ergo sum

I am Taiwanese living and working in Singapore. I like reading, thinking and writing.