Volunteer

Sam Chou
Cogito, ergo sum
Published in
1 min readAug 13, 2018

I joined a volunteer club when I was at university. I was a volunteer for events like raising funds for charity, cleaning up the beach, caring for the elderly in nursing homes, mentoring juvenile delinquent and teaching international students Chinese.

To do anything without incentives is not easy. Therefore, we must know what our motivations are.
These are the reasons why I like to do volunteering jobs:
1. I want to gain a whole new perspective from various people and be more innovative
2. I want to explore more
3. I feel good to help others
4. I feel I am a part of the community
5. It’s fun and there are lots of free food

How about you? What is your motivation to do anything? What are you passionate about in life? What drives you? What do you enjoy?

--

--

Sam Chou
Cogito, ergo sum

I am Taiwanese living and working in Singapore. I like reading, thinking and writing.