So now what?

Brett Harned
Same Page
Published in
4 min readJan 18, 2024

We love a good year in review. It’s almost like some cultural phenomenon at this point. We hear it all, from Spotify Wrapped to that obnoxious, overly detailed letter that your old coworker snail-mailed you over the holidays. Usually, it’s just the ups because no one wants to hear the downs. But let’s be honest: if you’re in client services or tech, there's a strong chance that your 2023 was mostly made up of downs. Or downers.

2023 saw massive layoffs in tech and client services, fear of AI taking over, and a global tightening of budgets. As a guy who is independent and consults with partners in tech and client services, I‘m not going to lie…shit is frightening not only for me and my business but for so many others.

Before I paint a negative picture, I should mention that my 2023 was actually pretty great. I spent New Year in Sonoma, CA, with my good friend and now business partner Greg. I climbed inside the Great Pyramid of Giza with my father in February. I snorkeled between the tectonic plates with my family in Iceland over spring break. My daughter Juliet graduated 8th grade in June, and I became the dad of a high schooler. I earned a “Dad of the Year” badge by scoring Eras Tour tickets (and yes, I went, and Taylor was amazing, but my girls watching my girls scream and sing for 3 hours was the highlight.). I hiked, ate, and drank 120 miles around Mont Blanc, through France, Italy, and Switzerland, with my wife Emily in August. I saw U2 at the Sphere in Vegas with Greg. I did a lot of things I’d never imagined were possible for me in my life in 2023. I’m grateful for all of it.

Professionally, the year was a little different. It started with a client ghosting me on a sizeable follow-on contract, so the year started with an overall tenor of concern. But overall, it’s been a solid year. I’ve worked with great partners to define and staff new roles and practices, find the root of process issues and implement changes, define company goals and roadmaps, and a few other odds and ends.

After consulting with my pals at Image Conscious Studios for two years, I joined the team as their Head of Operations (It’s a part-time role, which is perfect for now. Yay for “job security” and independence at the same time, especially after every lead dried up in 2023.). I really enjoy the team, and the work Adam and Beth Gesuero have allowed me to take on is exciting.

While doing all of that work, there was side work. With me, there’s always side work. I need a creative outlet, and as it turns out, I have a deep need to feel overwhelmed at all times. That’s totally normal, right?

In a way, 2023 was a year of collaboration with Greg — and they all weren’t successes. We had an idea for a business and worked with a group of super-talented folks on the idea and were ready to conquer the world, but the timing was just not right and interest fizzled. We launched the second season of Sprints & Milestones, which we’re genuinely proud of. We started a pet project that was inspired by a little idea I had while listening to records in my office. Most importantly, we regrouped on the future and formed Same Team Partners. That was the best decision we made in 2023 because it’s setting us up for a great 2024. We’re open for business.

We’re working with a couple of great partners in coaching and fractional leadership engagements, and we’re looking at a busy 2024. If you want to learn more about what we do, check out this capabilities deck we just created.

Creating that deck was a fun exercise. We collaborate well, and we’re set to do more of that this year. More blog posts. Same Team online events. Keynotes and workshops. A community-based zine. More Sprints & Milestones. It’s all in the roadmap.

Will we get half of those things done? Time will tell. If a partner with a juicy challenge asks for some help, we might have to forsake a thing or two. We’re dreamers and doers. We know our limits; they only exist when we look at our calendars.

Have a great year.

(And now you just got a less-detailed version of that letter I mentioned in the second sentence…more than two weeks into the new year. You’re welcome.)

--

--

Brett Harned
Same Page

Strategist, facilitator, coach, and partner at Same Team. Author of Project Management for Humans.