The most surprising thing about starting a podcast

Sami Honkonen
Blog by Sami Honkonen
2 min readOct 28, 2015

I recently started a podcast called Boss Level. Boss level is the status a person or an organization achieves by making a better quality of life for themselves and others by doing what they need to do regardless of all the haters and obstacles out there.

What surprised me so far is how podcasting is a great way for me to learn.

First, I need to research the person being interviewed and his areas of expertise to be able to ask the right questions. While I’m already familiar with most of the topics we discuss I still seem to find something new when I dive in.

Second, I really need to listen when we discuss. I need to listen intently and intensively. And do my best to follow up when it feels important.

When did you last have a conversation in which, for an hour, you actually tried to listen to and understand everything the other person said? At least for me, that happens very seldom.

Third, editing the interview is a great recap of the topics discussed. I end up listening through the whole interview roughly three times while editing. I often pick up things I missed while recording.

Additionally, I’ve learned a lot about producing good quality audio. I already have plenty of experience from recording vocals with Embreach, but we release new music seldom and when we do I’m not the person mixing it. Recording, mixing and editing demos you share with other band members is different from publicly sharing something you know thousands of people will listen to.

And perhaps most importantly, the podcast a great exercise in just shipping it. The audio is never perfect. I always feel like I should’ve asked a follow up on this or that. I feel like I pronounced something poorly (English is not my first language). And I definitely… you know… like… bridged sentences way too may times. Regardless, I just ship it.

So far, the podcast has done very well. On iTunes, it’s received 5 star reviews. It’s been featured for several weeks as “New and noteworthy”. On social media, the feedback has been overflowingly positive. Thanks you, dear listeners!

If you haven’t checked out the podcast yet now is the perfect time. With Simon Marcus we discuss Spotify’s operations, with Nilofer Merchant we talk about her first encounter with Steve Jobs, with Niklas Modig we cover lean.

Links to the podcast:

PS. If you want to hear me singing something a little softer than death metal you might want to check out this Dream Theater cover song I recorded recently.

--

--

Sami Honkonen
Blog by Sami Honkonen

CEO of Tomorrow Tech. Host of Boss Level Podcast. Death metal vocalist.