I Just Tried Blender, And You Should Too…

Samarjai Mitra
Sam’s Sack Of Stories
2 min readMar 9, 2022

No, I am not talking about that thing in your kitchen that you haven’t used since you got it, I am talking about the incredible software that is sweeping the CGI community called Blender.

To quote the official Blender website:

Blender is a free and open-source 3D creation suite. It supports the entirety of the 3D pipeline — modeling, rigging, animation, simulation, rendering, compositing and motion tracking, even video editing and game creation.

The Blender logo

I recently took up Blender as a hobby, but I didn’t download it for it’s 3D modeling, I had downloaded it for it’s video editing. I was desperately looking for a free video editing software, and I came across a video that praised Blender for it’s video editing capabilities. Suffice to say I was confused when I opened it.

I was greeted by a blank 3d scene. I had no idea how to navigate the scene, but I was intrigued by it. So intrigued that I opened YouTube and immediately searched for a tutorial. I was greeted by one thing that all Blender users will recognize: Blender Guru’s Donut Tutorial.

Blender Guru’s Donut Tutorial for Blender 3.0

Well, I watched that tutorial, and about 50 more, until I had enough knowledge to start making my own renders. The beginning was tough, to say the least, and I was struggling to do anything. But, after persevering through the basics, everything seemed to become a whole lot easier. I realized that after learning the basics, the rest was very simple, and frankly repetitive. The commands became muscle memory to me, and I found myself hooked to tutorials.

Well, that tangent was completely unnecessary, all this to say; the beginning is not easy, but the results speak for themselves. Blender is an incredible tool, and I feel everyone can and should try it out.

I have yet to discover Blender’s motion tracking and 2-d animation tools, but so far I am extremely pleased with the software. The UI and controls are easy to understand, but the power of Blender is unlimited. UNLIMITED!

But anyway, I hope this article got you inspired to start your Blender journey! So get to it!

--

--

Samarjai Mitra
Sam’s Sack Of Stories

Your one-stop-shop for up to date news on technology, internet culture and literature!