Reintroducing: The W3C Developer Council 🎉

This autumn the W3 Developer Council is making a comeback to the web space, so allow us to reintroduce ourselves.

The word “hello” in a speech bubble in neon.
Photo by Drew Beamer on Unsplash

Who

There are two co-chairs, myself (Lola Odelola) and Boaz Sender, principle and founder of Bocoup.

Additionally the group has a leadership team to help with some of the responsibilities. They are: Debs Durojaiye, co-founder of Multitudes Co-op, Olu Niyi-Awosusi, Javascript Developer at OddBird, and Jacky Alciné, freelance software engineer.

Finally, this group is open to all who are curious and interested in joining. If you would like to attend our monthly meetings, input or ask questions about the Dev Council, you can do so by joining the group.

What

The W3C Dev Council is a group within the W3C that will act as a go-between between specification & proposal writers/groups and the wider web developer community. We want to introduce developers to the W3C and help them navigate what can often be a confusing maze of groups, as well as support spec and proposal writers in soliciting feedback on their work from the right groups of people.

How

Ideally we want to connect with other developer and developer advocate communities who are either already invested in an open web &/or standards, or who are curious about it.

In the early days, a large part of our work will be educating folks about the W3C, what it does and it’s role in the wider web community, as well as surveying developers and spec writers about their needs and working practices within the W3C.

We’re still writing our working statement and after last week’s Technical Plenary and Advisory Committee (TPAC) sessions, we got a lot of good feedback which will help us form the working statement.

What’s Next

This group is open to all and at the service to developers and spec writers, we’re here to help you! If your curiosity has been piqued, you can join and follow along on the:

We have monthly meetings on the 4th Thursday of the month 3pm UTC (4pm BST, 11am EST, 8am PDT, 12am KST) and meetings and agendas will be announced via Slack and mailing list. Agendas and minutes will be available in the GitHub repo too.

See you soon!

--

--

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store