Deleting Twitter

#ByeTwitter

Cory Roberts
Samurai Cory Draws Stuff
4 min readSep 25, 2023

--

Last July, I left Twitter, but without deleting it to keep 16+ years of tweets. I also want to occupy the namespace to avoid anyone impersonating me since I adopted the pen name “Samurai Cory” in 2016, though it is not a fan account of CoryxKenshin. Then I uninstalled the app from my phone and my iMac, requested a backup of my tweets, and stopped reading my timeline. The account has remained dormant for weeks since I last tweeted/posted. This is also the image I posted (below) that I left on Twitter/X.

I managed to delete all my DMs. So I was already invisible on the site formerly known as Twitter/X. I’m a freelance illustrator and manga artist and I always wanted to expose my art and manga to a wide audience. The blocking feature on Twitter/X would be removed, which would cause a lot of stir. I lost a lot of hope and confidence in Twitter/X and how it’s being run by (that) Elon(gated) Musk(etoon).

Fool me once, fool me twice…

DeviantArt has become the worst art site ever, and many of the staff and volunteers still won’t care as they will still diss the art community as users have left DeviantArt for alternatives. We’re still waiting for the FBI and the ICPO, who are to shut down DeviantArt and its parent company Wix, for the corruption of and not caring about its users (and also have the staff and volunteers face 24–36 months in prison).

We still need to take action to encourage around half of the internet giants to stop dissing autistic people, including those who have bipolar disorder or other kinds of disabilities, and also have the internet giants’ trust and safety team and its staff take anger management classes and seek professional help, change their community guidelines and TOS, and also give some of the staff the sack immediately so they won’t diss autistic people, including those who have bipolar disorder or any other kind of disability. I also don’t have a Newgrounds account either, and I don’t have a DeviantArt account anymore.

Photo by Chethan on Unsplash

But I spoke with friends and family, and also my father that it was a good thing I had left Twitter/X early, but I managed to find some artists on Instagram, Pixiv, Behance, ArtStation, and Tumblr. I felt bad that I still had that dormant account.

I deleted it almost a month later.

The reason why I don’t follow small accounts on Instagram, TikTok, Tumblr, or Twitch is that because I’m 30+ years old, I’m not a beginner artist, and I’m not an amateur artist either.

Quitting Christianity

Someone told me that it was a good thing that I quit Christianity forever around five years ago, just before Pat Robertson died, as he was known to destroy the LGBTQ+ community and oppose abortion, as well as other things in this Wikipedia article (English). The Christian right has become a serious threat to American and Canadian societies, which require the anime, manga, and video game industries to face censorship to either appease the younger audience or to avoid a moral backlash outside Japan. I hope the US and Canada are atheist-majority countries so that the anime, manga, and video game industries won’t complain about censorship while exporting their IPs from their native Japan to the Western market.

Speaking of which, I have a Mastodon account! I also have a Tumblr, which is much more art-focused this time. I also transformed my Instagram account into an art-focused account (but there will be occasional photos). If you meet on Twitter/X, that’s not me. In that case, report any impersonators, and also note that Samurai Cory (that’s me!) and CoryxKenshin (not me!) are different people.

--

--

Cory Roberts
Samurai Cory Draws Stuff

American digital illustrator and manga artist who draws Y2K clothing and big sneakers. Now working on personal and freelance projects.