Review: XP-Pen Artist 24 Pro

Cory Roberts
Samurai Cory Draws Stuff
3 min readDec 5, 2022

Disclaimer: This is not an affiliate post.

Two weeks ago I bought an XP-Pen Artist 24 Pro to replace my nearly three-year-old XP-Pen Artist Display 15.6 Pro. It was originally 900 USD, but I got it for a discount price of 620 USD. Here are the features:

  • You can create your artwork or (scroll-format) webcomics in 2K QHD (2560×1440 instead of 1920×1080), as it can deliver vibrant, dynamic, and realistic images, with accurate color and deeper contrast.
  • It also supports USB-C to USB-C connection, allowing you to connect to your iMac, MacBook Pro, or Windows computer without using an adapter.
  • It has 20 customizable buttons and two red dials, as opposed to my previous 15.6 Pro which had flickering lines at the bottom, as that tablet was out of warranty.
  • It also has a USB hub that can connect to your mouse or charge your smartphone or tablet, and it has touch-sensitive keys designed to avoid sticking, and it has an adjustable stand so you don’t strain your eyes too much.
  • You don’t have to worry about recharging the batteries on your pen!
  • When you push the button on the pen, it switches to the eraser, so you can erase any lines if you make mistakes.
  • You get two styluses instead of one stylus!

Why XP-Pen?

I had gripes with Wacom tablets as the Cintiq is expensive (which can skyrocket to 2,000 USD, 2,500 USD, or it can even skyrocket to almost 3,500 USD — oh wait, no offense!). My first tablet was a Bamboo Create and later the Wacom Intuos Pro Medium. I got error messages a lot when I tried to launch them on my old Windows 7 laptop. It came down to two reasons:

  • They are relatively cheaper than the Wacom Cintiq, though Huion has similar pricing as I’m not a Huion user myself, you might want to ask a Huion Kamvas Pro user.
  • You will get better support than Wacom, and you will get an 18-month warranty from the original purchase date.

XP-Pen just knocks the crap out of the park here.

Just because I’m right-handed, there’s also a pen holder, so you don’t have to worry about putting your pen in the pen holder. I’m going to spend a lot of time making artwork with fewer interruptions and I don’t have to squint my eyes a lot (I’m not a glasses user myself, though I would wear glasses for aesthetic purposes). Next thing is I need to upgrade to a better desk since I had a tempered glass desk for almost a decade so I would reduce the chances of a glass explosion.

I’m going to need someone to move my iMac and other equipment if I’m getting a new desk from Amazon (and help set up the desk and get rid of the behemoth tempered glass desks).

--

--

Cory Roberts
Samurai Cory Draws Stuff

American digital illustrator and manga artist who draws Y2K clothing and big sneakers. Now working on personal and freelance projects.