Gratitude Journal

Roopa
Sanatana Dharma
Published in
3 min readJul 13, 2022
Photo by Courtney Hedger on Unsplash

I have read and heard these words “Gratitude” and “Thank You” multiple times from amazing motivational speakers who encouraged to use these terms before going to bed and after waking up in the morning.

When I read Swami ji’s post on Gratitude, I have decided to follow the instructions before going to be bed. I prepared my gratitude journal. Only one thing I can say I felt sometimes Bhagwan heard my gratitude and prayers. At times I go in length to please Bhagwan just because I felt He heard me last day. He knows better when I mean it truly and when I am may be just saying for the sake of saying.

To be honest, I thought it would be a smaller list as I will add my family and Bhagwan in this list. Nevertheless, with the habit of making notes I thought of preparing short gratitude list. So that day my gratitude list was as follows :

Family

At first when I made gratitude notes for my family, the first sentence was very generic thanking statement for a complete family. As soon as I completed it, I felt the urge to write in detail and I ended up writing more describing about family members in detail about their unconditional love support for which I am grateful for.

God (Bhagwan)

The one whom I talked to every day and asked me to show the path, my Sai Baba, He is my Lord Shiva with whom I talk to every day. I made here again generic statement but later ended up writing in detail. I am also thankful to Bhagwan as he showed me my Guru Bhagwan. I have added short gratitude note for Swami ji. That day my gratitude note about Swami ji was as follows :

  • I am grateful to God for introducing the divine soul in our life who is Lord Krishna himself and showing us the path of wisdom as Shri Hari did to the Arjuna. Swami ji has to deal with many Arjunas plus one ignorant(me). Thank you dearest Swami ji. Thank you God.
  • Thank you Swami ji for showing the path to identify our Truth. We Love you.

Friends

I will be honest, I never thought I will include my friends, not that I have good friends around, its my inability to see the goodness around. While writing this journal, I remembered my loving friend whose kindness melts me every time I talk to her.

Maa (Jagat Mata)

Special mentions to Shri Mata because its her endless love which is present in every mother and I am immensely grateful that Maa allowed me to do Navaratri pooja. Om Shri Matre Namah.

As I started practicing every day, I have realized there are many reasons around to be grateful for. I have added recently another beautiful person, hope the beautiful soul will hear one day when I truly mean it (may be). :-)

To be honest, I have no idea, at times, I feel what I have done to get Guru Bhawan’s presence in my life, I can go on about beating myself about how undeserving I am and might end up writing a big journal :D. I don’t use this word(undeserving) anymore as one kind soul here in this platform told me its not about us, its only because of His Grace, Love and Compassion. I talked to God imagining how he may look like before and now He appeared in this life to show us how God really look like.

Naman Swami ji. Immense Gratitude.

Originally posted at https://os.me/short-stories/gratitude-journal/

--

--