On The Joy of Knowing Nothing

Akshay Om
Sanatana Dharma
Published in
2 min readNov 3, 2022
Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

It's a strange thing to say, but one of the things I have enjoyed most is the realization that I know absolutely nothing. I read voraciously about many subjects, and along with that comes a healthy dose of ego. I often feel good that I know a little bit about many things. Then a game-changing book piece of information comes along that changes your whole paradigm. You are instantly humbled and filled with awe about you proud you were of your own inaccuracies.

About a year ago, I first picked up Seven and a Half-Truths of the Human Brain by Lisa M Barrett. I knew a little bit about neuroscience and felt proud of that knowledge. The book shattered everything I knew in the first ten pages. The whole idea of the left brain and right brain being exclusively creative centers was destroyed. Lisa described the primary purpose of the brain as Homeostasis. She talked about how our brains have not evolved for thinking but for maintaining the body's budget. So much for Descartes's Philosophy of “I think; therefore I am.” According to Dr. Barett’s research, “you are; therefore, you think.”

Today my dearest guru Om Swami talked about how sometimes people think they know everything. That can be an ego trip that can have a disastrous landing. As the statement pierced me, I realized I actually knew nothing. Everything I call my knowledge has been accumulated information. This can be challenged and proved wrong at any point in time. Even the dearest truths you cherish can be ripped from you, and you could be left with a gaping hole in your thoughts. What do you do then?

You become comfortable with being zero, and then you enjoy the process of learning all over again. It's very liberating to start afresh because all the weight and baggage you carry of your knowledge gets stripped down to nothing. You can choose your own destiny, create your own path, and enjoy the process of starting again. That is the essence of Sanatana Dharma. You keep starting from zero again and again till you essentially become zero.

--

--