Bake Code

Glenn Zucman
SandAndStars.LA
Published in
2 min readSep 24, 2017

Asian-European fusion bakery & coffee-tea spot with great food, nice seating, and fast wifi.

Bake Code, New Taipei, CA (San Gabriel)

Location, Hours, Contact

  • 140 W. Valley Blvd, New Taipei, CA (San Gabriel)
  • 10am — 11pm / 7 days
  • 626–288–5118
  • bakecode.us

Scores

  • Coffee / Tea: 90
  • Bakery: 90
  • Seating: 90
  • WiFi: 90
  • Scene: 30
  • Total Coworking Experience: 360
  • Total Social Experience: 300

Coworking scores include WiFi but not Scene.
Social scores include Scene but not Wifi.

Bake Code, New Taipei, CA (San Gabriel)

About Bake Code

The breads, pastries, and cakes at Bake Code are great. I gave it a low scene score because it isn’t hopping the way a hot neighbor like Boba Ave is, although Bake Code suits me fine. It’s got a nice amount of seating and I love the long, high tables and bar stools as a perch to work from.

Next door to Bake Code is Boba Ave. It’s usually busier and more crowded. Loud music inside and cigarette smoking at the tables outside. If you’re young, hot, and Asian, Boba Ave is the place to be. Since I’m none of the 3, I prefer the brighter lighting and slightly more toned down vibe at Bake Code.

On the other side of Bake Code is Tea Station. I think of this as the place where the old, Asian men play cards. Boba Ave is too hot for me, and Tea Station is too dull. For me, Bake Code fits just right. Your mileage may vary.

--

--