How I became a full time Voxel Artist with The Sandbox — Creators’ Interview #11: Carina

Welcome to our Game Creators interview series, where we feature creators and members of The Sandbox community, giving them a platform to share their stories.

The Sandbox
The Sandbox
5 min readJul 16, 2021

--

In this edition of Game Creators, we speak with Carina, a talented artist that created her first ASSETs using VoxEdit a few months ago, joined The Sandbox’s Artists’ Fund, and have now sold a few on the Marketplace. Follow along as she shares some of her work process and how she became a full time artist in The Sandbox.

Tell us a bit about yourself

My partner and I started developing and publishing mobile games three and a half years ago. Since we are a small team, we have to do everything by ourselves, including all the required artwork. That’s how I started to learn how to make game assets. My journey began with isometric artwork, but it quickly became evident that relying on 2D was satisfying, so I started to learn voxel and low poly styles. Now making voxel artwork is my full time job.

How did you first hear about The Sandbox and what made you want to apply to the Fund?

I used to get some small project work from a website called Fiverr, to practice my modelling skill and get extra income. I was contacted by a buyer who was looking for voxel artists to make voxel assets for his Game Maker Fund project in The Sandbox. I discovered the Creator Fund on the website while trying to get to know more about The Sandbox art style to make sure my creations met the requirements. Since I was already familiar with voxels, as voxel is my favorite art style for games, I thought, why not apply?

Tell us a bit about your first ASSET created with VoxEdit

My first asset created with Voxedit was a gyroscope required by a client. It was a simple base with a few circles, but it was also the first time I tried to assemble voxel pieces and make simple animations. Despite the VoxEdit MacOS version not being as stable at the time, I was amazed by how simple and user-friendly it is and was eager to create more ASSETs in this program.

Which ASSET are you most proud of and why?

Among all my creations, I am most proud of my Super Mechamorpher. I spent a total of three days making the model and the animations. I had the vision in my mind of how it should present, but I wasn’t sure my skill would make it work. In the end, I am very happy with how it looks and it also received lots of good feedback from the community.

How hard is it to create an ASSET now compared to when you first started?

Coming from different 3D modeling programs, it was difficult for me to get familiar with VoxEdit in the beginning. After several months of practice, now I can really say VoxEdit is the most comprehensive program for making voxel art. VoxEdit improves a lot with each update and with the rigging and animation systems, I am able to make whatever I want to create.

What is the state of mind you are in when you come up with a new ASSET to create ?

When I come up with a new idea, I love to browse around art platforms to see related design or environment. It helps me finalize the direction I choose with my creations. It’s always very exciting and I can’t wait to get my hand on the program and start to create!

How did it feel to have your first ASSETs become NFTs sold on the Marketplace?

I was a bit apprehensive when my ASSET was selected as one of the first to be sold when the Marketplace beta launched. It was a mushroom house that I created because I liked it, not because I felt like users would need it or because the projects I work on required it. So I wasn’t sure if there was an audience for it. I listed it as an art piece and minted 5 copies. Turns out, it sold out within hours after it launched. I was totally surprised. I appreciate the chance it gave me to actually see that my creations are beautiful and some people like it.

Would you like to share a few words with aspiring artists?

Practice as much as you can and always believe that your work is beautiful, as long as you put passion into it, the artwork will shine.

Any final words?

Open Voxedit and start to enjoy it!

We thank Carina for her inspiring words. If you wish to see more of her creations, head over to her profile page in the Marketplace.

--

--