Boxing Days Part 3

Flexibility is key

Benjamin Tirone Nunes
Sandbox
Published in
2 min readMay 8, 2017

--

No call has been outright cancelled so far, but there has been a lot of times the need for flexibility and rescheduling. This will come as no surprise to anyone, most Sandboxers have no time, so booking calls 3 weeks ahead of time will result in such changes. It has made me feel that maybe booking the calls only one week ahead of time would work better in the case that the person doing the calls is also super busy. What’s been most important to me has been having the calls though, so there’s always a way to get one in.

In terms of interesting themes the relationship of the individual with Sandbox at large has been something that’s crept up a lot throughout this month. In that way I had one conversation with a member who wants to phase out their involvement with Sandbox, a second in a similar position as me in terms of ramping it up, a third who felt they were never fully brought into Sandbox and a fourth who credits it for changing their lives, a fifth wants a physical representation, and a sixth and seventh want to energize their hubs. Needless to say everyone is thinking about it in different ways, as am I, which is the reason I am here talking to someone each day and writing about it at the end of the week. It feels like there’s a lot of work to do, and a big willingness to be a part of it. Every day there’s openness and positivity to the call with me, I feel like there’s a lot of space to go deeper, but that’s one of the constraints of a skype call. There’ll always be more opportunities though.

Having said that, after these 30 days are over, I will continue to talk regularly to Sandbox members, I’m thinking of 2 per week as a starting point. I’d also like to test peer coaching as a tool. Will get into that more after this is all over. There’s something in facilitating this for the wider community though, for which I have a couple ideas. Will get back to you guys on that soon as well. As for tomorrow, I have a lunch booked with Filipa!

--

--