7 Awesome Books That Affected Me The Most In My Teens

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.”
Marcus Tullius Cicero

--

Throughout my childhood and until today, I’ve kept wanting to read and learn more about the world. Perhaps less about the things we’re taught at school. But almost anything related to science, sociology and economics.

That said, I’ve tried to constantly read books. Especially those that really teach how the world works. Trying to understand something about everything.

Of course, the more I read, the deeper into various subjects I go. Yet every now and then, I return to the ones that took me as far as today.

Before I was reading the works by Malcolm Gladwell, Nassim Nicholas Taleb, Ryan Holiday, Seth Godin, Tim Ferriss, Walter Isaacson, Yuval Noah Harari and many others, I was affected most by those 7 authors and their books:

  1. Dale Carnegie’s “How to Win Friends and Influence People”
    This is a book my father gave me when I was around 12 to 14 years old. His aim was to have me learn how to communicate with people better. Especially so I wouldn’t try to fight that much at school and would know how to get my will via words.
    I’ve actually since bought three copies of the book, as I believe everyone should read it and thus have occasionally lent it out. Yes, it’s describing relatively simple truths. Yet for some reason, people tend to ignore those principles even if they think that they know ‘em.
    Meanwhile, I’ve also read his other two books, “How to Stop Worrying and Start Living” and “The Quick And Easy Way To Effective Speaking”. The latter influenced me to pick up debating to learn more about effective speaking.
  2. Robert Kiyosaki’s “Rich Dad, Poor Dad”
    This one is another of those first suggested by my father. Again, Robert isn’t describing something unknown to us. Instead, he’s using storytelling to give us blunt examples about how differently should we think if we’re interested in living a good life.
    Since then, I’ve read various other books by Robert, such as “Rich Dad’s CASHFLOW Quadrant” and “Why “A” Students Work for “C” Students”. Together they made me not care about the conventional school subjects and the grading system, as I understood that my way would be different. At the same time, Robert was the first who affected me to look deeper into the world of economics.
  3. Allan & Barbara Pease’s “Why Men Don’t Listen & Women Can’t Read Maps”
    This one might be the most controversial on the list. Especially as Allan and Barbara indicate how differently the brains for men and women work. Drawing a map for each side to better understand the other.
    This couple has written various books on behavioural psychology. Comparing the two sexes, while also teaching how to read body language and influence people with words.
    Through my teens, I also read three other works of theirs, including Easy Peasey“, „Questions Are The Answers“ and „The Define Book of Body Language“. Thinking back, I still use many of the teachings from those books in my daily life.
  4. Jim Rohn “7 Strategies for Wealth and Happiness”
    This was the first book to really teach me the concept of goal-setting. Obviously, I had heard people talk about it before. However, Jim finally helped me get the hang of it.
    Unfortunately, I have yet to read any of his other books until today. Nevertheless, this one book and the videos of his speeches have very much affected me.
  5. Richard Branson “Screw it, Let’s do it”
    This was the first biography on any entrepreneur I ever read. Adding the last straw in the foundation of me always wanting to control my own life by starting new businesses. As well as giving me the dream of someday owning my own island.
    Since then, I’ve read plenty of other books on Richard’s life, such as “Business Stripped Bare”, “Losing My Virginity”, “Like a Virgin”, “The Virgin Way” and “Finding My Virginity”. Every one of those taking a somewhat different angle, while teaching more about business.
  6. Gary Chapman ”The Five Languages of Love”
    This is likely my most recommended book on relationships. Exemplifying how there are five different types of people we all could fall in love with. Those that care about words of affirmation, acts of service, receiving gifts, quality time or physical touch.
    In his book, Gary explains how to understand which one of those is the language for you, as well as your companion, while also giving tips on how to behave around any of ’em. If nothing else, the book has saved us with Lele, leading to marriage.
  7. Anthony Robbins Unlimited Power: The New Science of Personal Achievement”
    L
    ast but not least, this book showed me the importance of taking care of my body by eating well and going to the gym. Surely, I’ve since researched both of those topics further. Yet it was this particular book that gave me the first glance into the scene with its easy graphs on which foods to eat and where to look for further training guidance.
    Other than this, I’ve also read Tony’s book named “Awaken the Giant Within” — another classic of his. But even as I have enjoyed those books of his, I for some reason haven’t consumed any of his other works.

Obviously, this is just the tip of the authors and books that have influenced me, as everything we read leaves at least a small mark. Yet as said, these are some of the cornerstones for me.

That said, which are the books that have influenced you the most?

If you loved any of this and want some more, then let me know what you’d like me to write about via my Newsletter, Twitter, LinkedIn or Facebook.

--

--

Sander Gansen
Millennial thoughts on business & technology

Here to play the Game | Building @WorldofFreight to run a collaborative protocol building experiment.