Daily schedules do not work when travelling!

Why it does not make sense having a strict schedule while travelling and why I still try to…

--

A year ago, I wrote a post describing my weekly calendar, named All you need is a 20-Hour Work Week. Since then, I have left Shipitwise (or at least not actively helping around there) and took the role of chairman at Robotex to help generate the next 50’000 robotics startups.

This means that I have spent almost half of my last 12 months abroad. Travelling around the world to find potential franchisees and global partners who would help us deliver our vision.

Throughout this time, I have also adapted my weekly calendar to this new life. However, I have stopped trying to follow it on a strict basis as travelling and schedules do not go together well.

My weekly schedule at this point…

What has changed in the schedule?

First up, I have decided to start waking up at 6 AM — every morning to make it easier for the body to adapt. Of course, after a long night I sometimes end up sleeping longer. At other times I need to take flights at that time, thus waking up a few hours earlier. But as a guideline I try to plan things so I would wake up at 6.

After getting myself ready, I now try to make some tea and open a book before checking notifications or going to gym. Simply because it is hard to focus the thoughts on something else but work after opening the inbox. Plus, it always rewards with some great ideas to play with throughout the day.

Next up, a quick glimpse on the emails to catch something interesting on which to write the daily post. But no thorough analysis yet.

Writing. It is the best way to think. But unless I take time for doing that on daily basis, I end up too deep in the “doing land”. Thus completely forgetting to plan for the future. So now I have decided to do this every day, before I get into any action.

Finally I have breakfast at 9 AM. Opting for eggs with some other slow carbs on the side whenever possible.

Three hours into the day, I go to the gym or do any other physical activity. At times, this means I will just go on a walk. At others, I skip it knowing the day includes lots of movement. But at least I have planned this into every day for keeping the body healthy. Meanwhile, instead of doing it the first thing in the morning, I have opted to push it a bit further as I feel to be more ready then.

Finally, I will work with emails/presentations and meet people from 11 AM to 6 PM (and occasionally much-much longer). In fact, I have now planned at least 35 hours of actual work into every week (not working much in the weekends). Obviously doing more whenever needed. But trying to limit meetings into this timeframe. Unless I do that, other people’s calendars end up running my life and I kind of do not like it.

That is why from 6 PM onwards I have planned to have fun time with Lele — the girl I will marry in August. But this time also includes learning new skills, e.g. cooking or programming. As well as friends. And sometimes late night business dinners/drinks — especially when travelling…

By 12 AM, it is still the time to fall in sleep. Because getting these 6 hours of sleep are a must have for running such an eventful schedule

The reality is different…

I already mentioned sometimes having to wake up at 4 AM to catch a morning plane. This, however, is just the start of it!

It is always possible to find time for reading and writing. Tho, at times it must happen a bit earlier or later. Especially when travelling with other people who do not have similar goals. Still, it is doable.

Much harder is to guarantee proper breakfast, as one never knows what the hotels or nearby cafes are offering. Same goes for lunch and dinner.

E.g. finding reasonably priced meat with salad and no carbs can be an impossible tasks in many corners of the world.

Then there is the question of data access. Fortunately, Europe finally solved this issue by removing the outlandish roaming fees. Yet emails will have to wait anytime I am on the plane or outside of Europe. As most of my work revolves around communication then having no internet can hinder the chance of getting anything done.

Finally, there is something Estonians are not used to — traffic! Getting to any meetings or events always takes too much time when abroad. And there is not much one can do when there is no data access either. So all in all, I get much less done when travelling around due to this last bit.

I am too stubborn!

All this said, I still try to follow my daily schedule even when travelling.

Hoping the whole world will at some point make data access available for all everywhere. Without any hassle.

Hoping we will at some point find a better way to avoid traffic. No, Skype calls are not the answer yet. But perhaps some faster way of transportation could be. Or more Uber. As long as we make data happen everywhere!

Perhaps those last two points are the ones we need to solve the fastest to get more innovation happen, faster…

Do you have a schedule you’re following? How have you adapted it when travelling?

Are you working on a way to make data accessible everywhere? Or on some faster way for transportation? I would love to help you!

--

--

Sander Gansen
Millennial thoughts on business & technology

Here to play the Game | Building @WorldofFreight to run a collaborative protocol building experiment.