Dear, Prime Minister of Estonia!

I am sad.

--

I am sad because Estonia seems to be taking steps towards becoming an ever more closed society while giving away all the aces we have been collecting within the last 29 years.

I am sad because this course of actions could be reversed but unfortunately, you seem to lack the ability to listen to the people of Estonia, to analyse the international feedback and to make conclusions based on that.

I am sad because Estonia’s economic situation is at its best at the moment but it seems that you care more about maintaining your position as a prime minister, instead of working towards developing our economic environment, growing its international attractiveness and spreading the opportunities among the people as a result of such growth.

I am sad because people around the world have started to point their fingers towards Estonia, fearing that we will soon be like Austria, Hungary and Venezuela — meanwhile, they have already started to turn down invitations to events connected to Estonia.

I am sad because you do not seem to have a positive vision towards Estonia’s future that would take our current success story in the account and would enable it to grow further.

I am sad to follow the events from the recent days, especially as an Estonian-born lad that has spent his last years promoting Estonia around the world, while getting ready to become a father, fearing that I have to eat my own words and maybe find a new success story to promote.

Meanwhile, I do have hope!

I do hope that this is only a bad dream and soon we will all wake up, discovering that it is spring, that the birds are singing, that Estonia keeps carrying its digital values forward and that nations around us would still want to learn from us, while people everywhere would dream about moving to Estonia.

This means that I hope for the situation to normalize and Estonia to develop further.

I do hope this will be the end result!

But I do prepare for the worse like many around me…

--

--

Sander Gansen
Millennial thoughts on business & technology

Here to play the Game | Building @WorldofFreight to run a collaborative protocol building experiment.