Developing Meaningful Relationships Need Your Time, Daily!

Do not limit yourself only with workmates…

--

I’m writing this as a reminder for myself.

Two times in a row, I’ve found myself surrounded by people I don’t know much about. In both cases, it happened as I completely invested myself into some project, going all in. Meanwhile forgetting to develop meaningful relationships outside those projects.

It might have been okay if I were to generate strong relationships inside those projects. Yet in most cases, work-based relationships stay as they are. Fading after those projects end.

Moreover, it seems that most relationships built in the business world tend to be shallow. Especially when they get started only because someone needs something from the other party, without trying to take it further.

Of course, there are many examples of a different outcome. Such as developing a deep friendship with a classmate or a co-worker. However, that means you’d have to really take time to make it happen.

So there I was today, scrolling through my Facebook friends list. Only to realise that I haven’t spoken to most of those people for years. Understanding that I’m an excellent network builder but need to work more on my skill of developing meaningful relationships.

That said, I decided to work on this. Starting by taking 20–30 minutes daily to just write to both old acquaintances, as well as existing friends. Not trying to sell or get anything from them. Instead, showing a real interest to learn what’s happening in their lives. No idea as to what it could lead to. But don’t be surprised when I write to you, asking how are you…

If you loved any of this and want some more, then let me know what you’d like me to write about via my Newsletter, Twitter, LinkedIn or Facebook.

--

--

Sander Gansen
Millennial thoughts on business & technology

Here to play the Game | Building @WorldofFreight to run a collaborative protocol building experiment.