I’m On My Way…

Rabbi Sandra Lawson
Rabbi Sandra Lawson
1 min readDec 31, 2016

I’m On My Way… I am in the middle of studying and preparing for finals. After this semester I will only have three semesters left of rabbinical school. It has been a long and hard journey to get to this point.

As I am preparing for my finals, I’m finding it much harder to stay focused than in years past. I have to keep telling myself, “Just three more semesters. My finals don’t have to be perfect they just need to get DONE. I’m keeping my eye on the prize,” and every day moving closer to the title rabbi.

The other night I took a break from studying to watch the Kennedy Center Honors. I’m a huge fan of Mavis Staples and before the show I picked up my guitar and played the song, I’m On My Way in honor of her and being a recipient of the Kennedy Center Honors. Now looking back this song really resonates with me and my journey to becoming a rabbi. I’m on my way, to freedom land…

--

--

Rabbi Sandra Lawson
Rabbi Sandra Lawson

Rabbi, Writer, U.S Army Veteran, Vegan, weightlifter, podcaster and I play music sometimes