Cliched library picture — check!

Afternoon Haunts: Central Library, DTLA

Sandhya
Sandymonium
Published in
5 min readNov 16, 2016

--

A treasure trove of info, books and resources.

In this series of pictures, I want to highlight the utilitarian value of your neighborhood library. Since all information is now available online, nobody goes to these centers anymore for everyday assistance but I think besides the old and homeless, regular folks — especially newbies to the city — can gain a lot with a library card.

Welcome to the Central Library.

It’s kind of like a mall.

Complete with random tacky center piece.
Ornate Interiors.

BOOKS BOOKS BOOKS.

In a lot of languages

Cosy, Productive Spaces.

Great for shady pursuits, as popularized by Bollywood & TV shows. Huhuhuhu.
But really, you’ll get shit done.
Ample plugpoints.
K maybe a little too compact and not enough cosy.

There’s really interesting events that happen here:

Weekly and monthly exhibits. Pictured here: HERSTORY The Legal History of Chinese American Women.
Ayyyyyyyy
DOH

But really getting to information and services…

Funding for your ventures (L), When libraries try to be funny but can’t contain their stern side smh (R)

My favorite service of all:

PRINTING & SCANNING

Not photographed: The computer from year 2000 where you need to open your document, get a password and then use the releasing printer before your papers get here. All for 25 cents per page.

Kids, here’s a piece of history.
More information and giveaways.
Laptop rental is cool.
I imagine this is what a Blockbuster store would have looked like.
There’s DVDs AND music!
Spotted: Lady hunting for romance. I high-fived her after this photo was taken.

There’s a neat shop called The Library Store that sells cute stuff from stationery and tees to candles and witty cards.

One Petty Picture:

Passive aggressive point about USA and the umpteen patent claims. Yoga? Really? Smh.

Random Highlight: The Science & Tech department had these cool models.

YAY TAJ MAHAL INDIA REPRESENT (momentarily ignores opinion onShah Jahan’s brutality)

Support libraries, reading, community spaces!

As a child, books were my escape. I would constantly read at the dining table and chose staying in and reading over going out and playing as early as 8. I peaked with the Harry Potter series and then, there was steady decline — from simpler novels to magazines to just articles to *cringe* listicles and tweets. It’s been almost a year since I reinstated the habit of reading long form. I still read online content but I spend time on longer, thought out pieces (Medium to Cracked). Sometimes Quora, rarely reddit. Goodreads and LAPL have been great resources in reigniting the love for books. The internet is great for research reading, when you want to dive headfirst into a niche topic. I find books to be more immersive and exclusive in a sense because you can only jump word to word, line to line, page to page. There’s no multiple tabs. You can regulate the habit, which keeps it special.

You never feel lonely when you have a book to read and it may sound silly but sometimes just the thought that there will always be new books to read, new books that will make me giddy with excitement and take me to new places, brightens the moment.

“I don’t have a photo taking face”

I met this young man who works part time at the library. It was his last day on the job. We got talking and he pointedly mentioned that he doesn’t believe in coincidences. When discussing reading preferences, I got to know that he also harbored an interest in philosophy and spirituality like me. However, he confessed that he had to put down the books for a minute because he felt he was getting to know too much about people, which made him feel vaguely sinister. Relatable, bruh.

His Book Recommendations for me:
Hitler’s Charisma and Autobiography of a Yogi.

--

--

Sandhya
Sandymonium

I write about events in my life, which mostly have to do with creative process and understanding the world. about.me/sandhyaramachandran