Gift Ideas to Friends & Family

S-Log.
sanlts
Published in
6 min readApr 6, 2020

Here I have listed gift ideas that I think would be cool to get and cool to gift as well. I do use most of the stuff mentioned here so this post could be named “Stuff I love” as well.

https://ember.com/products/ember-mug-2-copper-coming-soon

Ember Smart Coffee/Tea Cup
A coffee cup that notifies you when your drink is cool enough to drink, lets you set your own temperature and keeps your coffee warm until you are done with it. I own one in bronze and love it. Ember is available also in some Apple stores.
1499 NOK / 164 USD

https://eu.electriccalifornia.com/collections/womens-goggles/products/eg3-5-goggle-eg1519100-brrd

Electric Goggles 3.5
Edge to edge goggles by Electric from California. You can buy additional glasses and switch glass when you need more light. I got Electric goggles for my birthday couple of years ago and I still think that it is one of the coolest gifts I’ve ever received.
€114 – €190

https://www.snowcountry.eu/sidas-drywarmer-pro-usb.html

Sidas Drywarmer Pro USB

A practical everyday gadget to try up your shoes after training, hiking, skiing and make sure your shoes do not get unpleasant odor. It works with USB cabel, it has integrated neon light, warmth regulator and you can take it with you wherever you go.
€19

https://www.ull.no/produkt/angora-s-ler-40/

Angora Soles
Angora soles are the warmest soles you’ll ever find. Those soles turned my summer sketchers into winter sketchers and gave them a whole new life. Those particular soles are made in Norway thus the link.
185 NOK / $18

https://www.hyperutile.com/catalogue/decanteur_vin/prod3-Magic_Aerateur_Bec_Verseur/

Wine Aerating Spout
A smart gift to a wine lover. This aerating sprout works as a decanter, the air enhances the taste and it is easy to pour wine to a glass and avoid dripping.
€15

Link to Amazon

Ice Cube Mold — Skull
Those must be the coolest ice cubes ever seen. You can also mix some food color into the water before you pour it into the form and make ice cubes decorate your drink. When you throw a party it makes it easier to see which drink on the tabel is yours.
$12

https://www.23andme.com

DNA test
I gifted DNA test to my mom as it is pretty interesting to learn what genes my mom has transfered to me. I took the test couple of years ago myself. In addition you can learn what you are made of — your ancestry, and if you export your raw dna data to https://promethease.com you can learn more about your dna’s strengts and weaknesses.
$99 + $40 for shipping (receiving & sending back the test kit)

http://www.select-sport.com/en/massage-balls

Pressure point massage ball
A massage ball is a really good gift for people who are active or those who are a bit older and need to increase blood flow. “ Locked feet” is one of the main reasons to knee- and back problems. I have been using myself Casall ball without spikes and it has helped me to get rid of stiffness under the feet after longer runs. I feel though that small spikes as Selected ball has might be more effective.
$13

https://www.nike.com/w/mens-sale-shoes-3yaepznik1zy7ok

Training Shoes
My boyfriend surprised me once with brand new Nike’s for my zumba class. He checked the size on my other shoes and picked the color scheme that I used to like. I was super happy. Nike offers also free shipping and free returns when you sign up on their webpage.
$60–$170

https://www.onnit.com/starwars-kettlebells/

Star Wars Kettlebells
If you boyfriend/girlfriend is a Star Wars fan, enjoys training with kettlebells and you have space at home to use them — this gift is a dream come true. Kettlebells that make training more fun.
$150+tax (22kg)

https://www.ecco-verde.com/pranarom/jazz-diffuser

Pranarôm Jazz Oil Diffuser
I use oil diffuser when I meditate and I really like how clean and nice design it has. The diffuser is made of ceramics and it has built in lamp which creates nice and cozy atmosphere in the dark. You can choose how many drops of scent you would like to add to the water depending how mild or strong aroma you would like. My absolute favorite scent is Ylang-ylang with rose and vanilla.
€82

Vase / flower pot
Interior gift is a good idea if you know the person well and know their interior style. I’m a huge fan of interior gifts and when shopping for one I keep two things in mind: gifts color and material should match with the home its going to end up or it should be in a neutral color that would fit into any home.
Bolia.com has often huge design sales where you can get a vase for under $20.
$2-$20

Get it from a flower shop

Cotton Branches
Instead of gifting live flowers you can gift dried organic cotton braches that last forever. I’m totally in love with those.
$4–$9 per branch

Homegrown Tea
One of my favorite gifts I’ve gotten - my friend Sandra mixes together natural homegrown herbs like peppermint, lemon balm, lavendel, roses etc and gives the mix a name. I’ve been so lucky to get 2 different mixes already Super-Sanna Tea and Sanna Zen Tea.

Art
A picture or a sculpture is a gift that might bring joy for years, something you don’t just “consume ” or use up.

https://www.elemis.com/pro-collagen-rose-facial-oil.html

Elemis Facial Oil
If I were to reccommend one facial product — this would be it. It smells like heaven and my face starts to glow. This is a high-end oil by Elemis - thus the price, but since I manage to use just a bottle a year (mainly during winter season) I’ll swallow the price as well.
€75

Handicraft
I’ve been so lucky to have received traditional slippers with handmade embroidery as a gift from my friend Grete, handmade by her mother. I appreciate those slippers more than any other shoe and thats the magic with handmade things. You know that a person has spent hours to make it and you will treat handmade shoes or sweather or mittens with extra love and care.

Photo by bobby hendry on Unsplash

Other Ideas

Tickets to a concert abroad
Tickets to a play in the theater

2–3 heats with electric carts

Day in a SPA
Yoga course
Beer brewing course

Camping equipment
Tickets to her/his favorite teams football camp
Foot-massage
10 x clip card to crossfit box
Sport massage

--

--