Separating experience from the self

S-Log.
sanlts
Published in
1 min readJul 16, 2020

--

I’m trying to learn to meditate — study meditation theory and practice.

My practice is devided into excercising those skills:

Breath Focus
Body Scan
Labeling and Consentration
Loving-Kindness and Gratitude
Spotlighting
Breath Control
Awareness
Visualization
Innovation and Creativity
Self-Direction

I want to write down something that I learned today which I believe would be a significant skill if I’m able to master it. It is being able to separate my experience, problems, stress, feelings from my mind from myself as a person. Step out of my body.

The following originates from Sam Harris. I often find his ideas complicated so I needed to draw this down to make more sense of it.

Progress in meditation ultimately entails that we become less precious and inward about the practice of meditation itself. The skill we’re cultivating here is the ability to leave everything as it is and recognize the intrinsic freedom that is already present in this moment of consciousness.

I’m using application Balance to practice the skills. I’m very satisfied with it.

--

--