SCU Media
Santa Clara University
3 min readJun 17, 2016

--

As I Graduate, 5 Things I Would Tell My Freshman Self

Photo Credit: Ketan Rajput

This article was first published by the San Francisco Chronicle.

Santa Clara University campus four years ago. I came here unsure of what to expect, a little nervous, a lot excited and overwhelmed by it all.

That’s why, as I’m about to graduate, I feel it is my duty to pass on my hard-earned knowledge to those who follow. So here are five tips I’d give my bright-eyed but hesitant freshman self:

Join more clubs

Call me a parrot because I know people told me this a million times before. And I did listen. Don’t be afraid to try new things.

Avoid making lame excuses, like “I don’t have hiking shoes for the outdoor trip,” or “I look awkward talking in front of a camera,” or “I only sing in the shower.” As a freshman, you’re less likely to go through the motions because you’re still learning them.

Take the opportunities that clubs offer to introduce yourself to new people, new interests, new perspectives and new worlds.

Take interesting classes

Tailor your routine to follow your curiosities and interests. Get jealous of people who come in undeclared! Use this first year to explore different professors, departments, disciplines and topics.

Good for you for taking a class called “the Joy of Garbage.” But what about poetry? Chemistry? Marketing? If you feel intimidated by the course listings, talk to students to find interesting ones people are buzzing about.

Befriend upperclassmen and listen to their advice. There really is no hierarchy in college like there was in high school.

Ask for help

Forget your unfortunate misconception that asking for help is a sign of weakness, failure or inadequacy.

There’s no way you should have a clear picture of everything, 24–7, during your first year. So attend your professors’ office hours, talk with your community facilitator, roommates, classmates and peers.

Check out the counseling services and the career center. It’s not unusual to feel on top of the world and completely defeated — in the same day.

Remember, you can’t navigate this unpredictable terrain on your own.

Don’t take your food to-go

One of the easiest ways to meet people — it doesn’t matter what age — is over a shared meal.

You may be shy, but I guarantee that there are people who would love to eat with you. Knock on your neighbors’ dorm room doors. Or ask a classmate to a meal before or after class.

If you don’t have a plan to eat with someone, head to the cafeteria anyway and see who you run into. The hidden secret we don’t like to admit: Almost every freshman is equally itching to make new friends.

Keep a journal

Write things down.

I was never very good at this because I thought I would have to devote hours to recap everything that happened. Just let it flow.

Here’s a good strategy: Pull out three things that happened to you each day and write down a sentence for each. I can almost guarantee that rereading your adventures, foibles and relationships will come in handy months or years from now when you are asked, “What was your freshman year like?” Here’s your book of answers, to keep or to share.

You’ll do things in college that you never even imagined or dreamed were possible.

By the time you walk across that stage, you’ll be carrying with you four years’ worth of memories.

Enjoy the journey, trust your gut, embrace change, and take it one day at a time.

Eryn Olson ’16 is a senior double major in sociology and communication from Torrance. After getting her diploma in June, she will be working at Levi’s Stadium as a tour guide, following her passions for talking and sports.

--

--

SCU Media
Santa Clara University

The Media Team at @SantaClaraUniv. #SantaClaraUniversity