Raising funds for Paradox — Additional Details (#Climbing4Paradox)

Santiago Suarez
Santiago Suarez
Published in
3 min readJan 6, 2017
The Grand Jorasses.

As I wrote about last year, I wanted to end my trip with a climb to raise awareness and support Paradox Sports. After some thinking, we now have a plan, and, more importantly, a Crowdrise site for everyone interested to donate (go check it out and support their cause!). In addition to the information on that site, though, I wanted to add some additional details for those interested in what and where we are climbing.

Where, why, and where in the Alps?

We are attempting three classic peaks that are both stunning and challenging — Mont Blanc, Monte Rosa, and the Grand Jorasses. We will be spending most of our time in Italy, as that’s where Monte Rosa is located, and where we will launch our attempt on Mont Blanc. We will attempt the Grand Jorasses from the french side. Climbing on the Italian side generally means fewer crowds, less-traveled routes, and a bit more adventure (also, great food and pizza!).

Mont Blanc as seen from the Italian side. A bit steeper.

While the Alps may sound cliche, the Alps in winter is a very different experience than in the summer. Summer ascents in the Alps are both demanding and well-deserving of their status as classic alpine destinations, but winter attempts require a completely different level of commitment and engagement. Cold temperatures, rapidly-changing weather, and shorter days make for challenging and technical conditions throughout the mountains.

We will only make our final route choices close to our departure date based on weather and conditions. When and where possible, however, we will seek to go up less traveled, steeper, and more interesting paths (hence why we are biased towards the Italian Alps). I’ll be joining Rob in the Alps for acclimatization and final prep the first week of February, and we will aim to climb between Feb 14th and Feb 28th. You can follow us using the #climbing4paradox tag.

About Rob and me.

Rob and I after a cold day ice climbing in the Canadian Rockies.

After five years at J.P. Morgan, I took a leave of absence last May to go climbing. My trips took me to the Cascades, Rockies, the Andes, the Alps and the Canadian Rockies, as well as Yosemite, Indian Creek and Eldo Canyon. This will be my last stop, bringing together everything I’ve done so far, from high-altitude mountaineering, to rock, ice and mixed climbing.

Rob is a ridiculously talented alpinist who also doubles as owner of the Boulder Mountain Institute. I met Rob last June for a month of coaching prior to my trip to the Andes. Since then, he’s become a mentor, inspiration and friend, having now logged countless hours in the granite cracks and peaks of Rocky Mountain National Park and the Canadian Rockies. (in insanely cold conditions). He originally introduced me to Paradox Sports, and I couldn’t think of a better rope partner for this trip.

--

--