Welcome! I’m Santosh.

Santosh Sankar
S Squared
Published in
3 min readJan 3, 2017

I’m Cofounder and Director of Dynamo, responsible for the strategic vision, planning, and execution (investing) of our global seed fund. Our investing activities tend to focus on early stage technology businesses that have the potential to transform commerce with a concentration in what we dub “logistics technology” that encompasses supply chain and transportation.

I believe that people & product are the fundamental units of any business. I enjoy discussions around the intersection of design, technology, business, and the capital markets. Sector-wise, I am particularly interested in anything related to global trade and commerce: supply chain, logistics, transportation, insurance, and financial services.

In my free time, I enjoy traveling and hiking which I’ve channeled into a hobby of taking photos wherever I go. Additionally, I like to work out, cook, and root for Penn State football. I live in Chattanooga, TN with my wife and rambunctious golden retrievers.

Barley (right) & Rye (left) wearing their bow ties

System of Record

2016

Collaborated on the launch of the Dynamo — a group of investors and operators focused on the logistics, supply chain and transportation industries.

2015

I joined Lamp Post Group in Chattanooga, TN, as part of a grand experiment — Lamp Post Labs, an innovation lab. In December, I transitioned to my current role and began laying out the roadmap for Dynamo.

2014

I grew restless and had decided to further explore Product Management and joined General Assembly’s Product Management program in NYC.

2013

I left my first job at Citi and joined Wells Fargo to learn about the technology sector at a deeper level. Specifically, my team covered the IT Hardware & Wireless Equipment industries.

2010

I also spent the year (2009–2010) as a Donor Relations Captain for Penn State Dance MaraTHON. I’m a proud alumn of the world’s largest student-run philanthropy focused on aiding families fighting pediatric cancer.

In May, graduated from Penn State with a BS Finance and Minor Information Systems Management and promptly joined Citi’s Investment Banking program where I joined the Insurance practice.

2009

My cofounders and I sold Bullish Bankers for 4.0x our initial investment after deciding to pursue careers on Wall Street out of college. 2009 also marked a year where I helped oversee the IT allocation for The Nittany Lion Fund, outperforming the S&P 500 IT Benchmark by 6.37%.

2008

Along with three other classmates, I cofounded and sold Bullish Bankers, a financial community after spending a summer at Wachovia (now Wells Fargo) in international operations. Bullish Bankers did well by any standard with a wide syndication and partnership with Jim Cramer’s TheStreet.com.

I was the sole Sophomore to compete in the impromptu case competition, The Next CEO and took third place against a field of ten other preeminent juniors and seniors at Smeal. The Next CEO presented a series of strategic scenarios that were framed by CSIS’s The Seven Revolutions to which participants responded. The program was judged by executives from a variety of Fortune 500 companies.

2006

I enrolled at Penn State after graduating from River Hill High School. After getting a swift kick to the head from reality, I reset, refocused, and became The Nittany Lion Fund’s first Fund Administrator.

I wound down Razor Studios, a business I had founded to provide technology support to small businesses and consumers.

1999

I learned HTML in 6th grade and coded my first site from scratch on the history of Hershey Chocolate. Previously, in 1998, I had built a webpage using Netscape Composer to present my learnings regarding The War of 1812.

I was first exposed to code by my Dad who booted up the BASIC interpreter on a Compaq Presario in 1995.

--

--

Santosh Sankar
S Squared

@thisisdynamo. 🤔 supporting awesome founders, building amazing products, and sales/distribution. ♥️ supply chain, mobility, data, dogs, our bright future.