In Praise of The Haunting of Hill House

Dave Wheelroute
Saoirse Ronan Deserves an Oscar
1 min readJun 11, 2019
Promotional material for Netflix’s The Haunting of Hill House

I am still at work on writing about the final season of Game of Thrones and Avengers: Endgame, but in the meantime, I just wanted to share some quick thoughts about Netflix’s 2018 miniseries from Mike Flanagan and based on Shirley Jackson’s works, The Haunting of Hill House.

When this show debuted on Netflix, I decided to give it a whirl because I was in the mood for something spooky. This show definitely fits the bill as the perfect sort of horror. Creepy and thrilling without being over-the-top, full of gore, and masochistic. For whatever reason, I forgot about it when I ranked my fifteen favorite television shows of 2018.

This error was grievous and I seek to remedy it now. The Haunting of Hill House was easily one of the best fifteen shows of last year and it definitely fit into my top ten. I recommend watching it, but I give my highest recommendation to watching it in October. Let it be atmospheric! It deserves it.

--

--

Dave Wheelroute
Saoirse Ronan Deserves an Oscar

Writer of Saoirse Ronan Deserves an Oscar & The Television Project: 100 Favorite Shows. I also wrote a book entitled Paradigms as a Second Language!