Embracing Longevity as a Design Leader

Learning from longevity in a career that’s always changing

Halle Kho
Experience Matters
5 min readAug 18, 2023

--

An abstract image depicting transparent, pink and purple bued buttons ascending like a staircase

I have been thinking a lot about longevity in design careers recently. It’s no secret that I am well into middle age, and to be completely honest, I don’t mind it. This will come as a surprise to anyone who knows me and has heard me complain about getting older, but there are many benefits to aging that I’ve started to truly appreciate in relation to my career. I’d like to share some of the things I’ve learned as both a designer and design leader here.

I have learned the value of, and accepted the challenges posed by, generational insight.

There is a slowly rising realization that occurs as you notice your colleagues staying up later, going out more, generally looking cooler, and having less and less in common personally. From a craft perspective, these things are irrelevant, but from a cultural standpoint, it can be incredibly isolating. I have often felt like the oldest one in the room, the last representative of my generation standing. I have felt the burden of remaining in the industry and pushing myself as a leader because there are so few women in these positions. I have also learned patience and have experienced what happens after you reach the ultimate goal you set for yourself. However, I have yet to understand what comes next.

I have learned the importance of boundaries.

Leading large design practices is an honor. I have always wanted to be available and attentive to the team’s needs, the craft, and the relationships we foster as we solve problems together, all while continuing to learn. As the topics pile up and we transition from a mild zone of multitasking to a remote world scheduled in 30-minute increments, characterized by heavy context-switching, the ability to allocate protected time becomes vital. Safeguarding that time is the only thing preventing you from feeling scattered. Boundaries have gained popularity post-Generation X. I was never particularly skilled at establishing or adhering to them, and I still struggle with determining their level of importance, but I now recognize their significance. If you neglect self-care — your mind and your time — you can’t truly perform at your best for your work and team.

I can reflect on the incremental growth of confidence.

My mother told me that my forties would be wonderful because I would care slightly less about things. As a person plagued by anxiety, perpetually juggling the stress and pressure of identity while striving for exceptional design, intelligent thinking, and strategic excellence, I couldn’t fathom caring less about anything. As it turns out, I was focusing on the wrong aspects of my life. I have learned to concentrate on constructing my identity from the inside out instead of responding to the pressures associated with being a parent, leader, designer, citizen, spouse, and so on. I no longer find myself struggling forward but rather learning to open doors. I also trust that I know enough about myself to exhibit confidence, even during the most trying times, reacting with intelligence and deliberately slowing actions to align with the right strategic moves. I’ve heard that this will become even more pronounced in my fifties. I’ll update you in a few months.

I realize that burnout is no longer necessary.

If you’re striving for a courageous life, burnout is a likely destination. The effort you put in comes with sacrifices. The quest for work-life balance adds extra pressure, making us believe we can fulfill everyone’s expectations. I’ve experienced several intense burnouts over the years. Fortunately, I’ve been able to pause and reset my career multiple times. I’ve picked up a few tricks over the years that I’ve started using recently and frequently, and so far, they’ve worked:

  1. Shut it down. Pay attention to the signals your brain sends when it needs rest. Turn off notifications, close your laptop, stand up, and give yourself a timeout. Whether it’s a 30-minute mental break during the day or a night of rest and reflection, allow yourself the space for mental clarity.
  2. Know your limits. Set a deadline. Knowing that there’s an end in sight and planning around it in increments can be immensely helpful. It’s a fundamental principle, but it holds true. Having a daily plan can alleviate a lot of stress. Inviting your colleagues to collaborate on it with you is a good way to ensure completion without feeling overwhelmed.
  3. Do something unexpected. Alongside taking a timeout, sometimes doing something that may initially seem a bit reckless or selfish can result in finding clarity and meaning. It can replenish your creativity, openness, and soul. Last year, I did something daring: I gave myself a “free day” away from work, family, and even myself. I took a train to Paris, which turned out to be a blessing, and spent a day exploring the city, covering every inch of the Louvre, and conversing solely in French. It was the most rejuvenating day I’ve ever experienced. I felt guilty for not rushing back from a work function immediately, but I needed that day. I could embrace a different version of myself, and I still recall the liberating feeling during moments of frustration.
  4. Embrace the middle. During lengthy and challenging assignments, it’s sometimes acceptable to simply appreciate being in the midst of them. Starting and completing tasks are dramatic events, but being in the middle is where the real work lies. Yet, it’s also the most rewarding time. It’s an opportunity to learn pacing, bond with your team, learn from trial and error, enhance your craft, and find joy.

I’m excited to continue reflecting on this journey, and so thankful to be a part of this industry. I know it has enough twists and turns to keep me on my toes for decades to come. I look forward to continuing to grow and learn — not only from my own longevity, but from new generations to come.

Experience matters. Follow our journey as we transform the way we build products for enterprise on www.sap.com/design.

--

--