Creating Infinite Success and Happiness in Uncertain Times

Steve Spielman
SAP Innovation Spotlight
3 min readMar 18, 2020

We have been playing games ever since we were kids. Depending upon who raised you and the community you lived in, you may have been taught varying ways to engage in competition. I can remember my mom telling me, “you need to get all A’s in school” and “it’s just a game.”

As an adult, I encountered corporate cultures where winning the quarter at all costs was the norm, yet, lofty purpose statements that implied a long-term view for the company and humanity. In short, these discrepancies absolutely confused me as I considered if I should play a short- or long-term game.

To my delight, I recently discovered Simon Sinek’s book the Infinite Game. Sinek’s book helped me to see this paradox more clearly. Sinek describes two types of games — finite and infinite. Finite games have a defined end. Some examples of finite games include landing a job promotion, getting into your dream college, or losing 10 pounds. While infinite games have no end. Some examples include improving the lives of others or living a healthy life. Playing the infinite game, according to Sinek, is the key to ultimate success, longevity, and happiness.

Reflect on Michael Phelps’s goal to become the most winning Olympian. He reached his goal, but then had no place else to go and fell into a state of depression. Or consider Blockbuster Video that was so laser focused on not losing their 16 percent of revenue tied to late fees that they ignored the Netflix model. Perhaps Blockbuster would still be around if they were playing an infinite game?

So does this mean that if you create a purpose statement that you will be an Infinite Company? Absolutely not! Most companies have audacious purpose statements, but most are hollow marketing monikers that fail to create Infinite Companies. Winning an infinite game takes consistent dedication to your purpose, a customer first culture, and relentless innovation.

One thing that Infinite Companies have in common is trusting SAP to provide their platforms to run and innovate their business, as SAP truly engages companies in the rigorous process that leads them to win their own infinite games.

Tim Cook & SAP CEO Bill McDermott (2019) announce expanded partnership.

Some examples of iconic, Infinite Companies relying on SAP include Apple, Costco, Disney, Microsoft, and Home Depot, and there are many new players such as Peloton and Chobani.

To illuminate an example from the list above, Costco has been playing the infinite game since 1983. They stayed the course despite investors questioning why they would pass so much savings onto customers and provide great wages and benefits to employees. However, despite this criticism, Costco’s infinite game has resulted in amazing brand loyalty and 10-year stock returns of 410%. Their commitment to the infinite game has paid off!

SAP’s Intelligent Enterprise combines Experience & Operations, fueled by Intelligence

I want to thank Simon Sinek for the inspiration for this article and transforming the way I think about my life. I am incorporating these principles daily in raising my two kids, growing my career, and helping my customers achieve their own infinite possibilities with the SAP Intelligent Enterprise. This takes consistent, hard work every day which is especially difficult in the uncertain times we find ourselves in today.

What is your Infinite Game? I invite you to share your stories here, or contact me and we can dream up possibilities!

--

--

Steve Spielman
SAP Innovation Spotlight

Architecting next business platform to help the world run better and improve people’s live.