Buenos Aires 2022: My exciting SAP Social Sabbatical with Unplastify

Varun thamba
SAP Social Sabbatical
3 min readMay 18, 2022

Hello! My name is Varun, I am based in India, part of the Business Technology Platform Centre of Excellence team, currently part of the Buenos Aries cohort of SAP Social Sabbatical program 2022..

I remember my last international flight very vividly. Being asked to rush out of New York cutting short my business trip due to imminent closure of airspace due to COVID. That was March 2020.

A little over 2 years, I am here in Buenos Aries and it’s for a cause that is very close to my heart. The SAP Social Sabbatical is truly a unique program that gives employees the opportunity to work with organisations striving towards creating a better world.

Its lovely to be a in city which celebrates its people, its amazing food and of course the football..

We inaugurated the cohort with a kickoff at the local SAP office in downtown Buenos Aires jointly with the SAP team, host organisations and our global partner Pyxera Global and our wonderful mentors.

Post the kickoff meetings and hearing some amazing stories about the amazing work the organisations do, it was time to get down to business! We were a team of 3 consultants from around the world working for SAP who will work on the Unplastify project. Csaba from Hungary and Kim from Germany along with me.

I was amazed by the passion in the young team at Unplastify and the work they were doing. We had a very clear task in front of us to help them streamline their reporting metrics.

When you are company working on re-engineering the human relationship with plastic, measuring the impact you have is a very important and it’s very difficult to measure human behavior and quantify the impact. More so for Unplastify as they work across with various stakeholders across governments, schools, corporates, and others.

I am also loving the food and drink culture, for instance drinking some mate while we focus on some serious work. We also were lucky to be part of the annual SAP football league which restarted after 2 years and meeting all the fantastic collegues from SAP Argentina at the informal evening event!

I am beyond excited to work with and help the Unplastify solve their business challenges.
Watch this space for more insights on how we progress in our amazing journey!

--

--