Closing a Chapter: Reflections on Our Social Sabbatical with Impact Hub São Paulo

Simon Poll
SAP Social Sabbatical
3 min readMay 10, 2024

As I sit here on my last day in São Paulo, reflecting on the past four weeks of the SAP Social Sabbatical program, I can’t help but feel a mix of emotions. Our project with Impact Hub São Paulo has officially concluded, and tomorrow, I head home to reunite with my wonderful wife Julia and our lovely daughter. Just in time for Mother’s Day — perfect timing, indeed!

Final Presentation and Deliverables

This final week has been intense and rewarding. We wrapped up our work by presenting our achievements to the enhanced leadership team of Impact Hub, handing over our deliverables so they can turn our concepts into reality. Today, we also shared our results with our fellow sabbatical participants and SAP colleagues at the SAP office in São Paulo.

Finally it’s showtime and present our results

Reflecting on Our Journey

From the outset, our team — myself, Heather from the UK, and Saminder from Canada — has been committed to making a meaningful impact on Impact Hub’s future. The organization, which operates collaborative workspaces, fosters entrepreneurial communities, and delivers impactful training programs, provided an inspiring environment for us to apply our skills and knowledge. With a global network of over 110 units in 65+ countries, Impact Hub’s reach is impressive, and their dedication to innovation and sustainability is admirable.

Overcoming Challenges and Learning

When we first embarked on this journey, the challenge seemed overwhelming. We were out of our comfort zone, tasked with solving complex issues in just four weeks. But through teamwork and perseverance, we managed to analyze potential business models, identify monetization strategies, and provide recommendations for scalability and technology solutions. Seeing the results of our efforts, I am immensely proud of what we’ve achieved and grateful for the warm reception and gratitude from Impact Hub.

Cultural Insights and New Friendships

Aside from the hard work, I’ve enjoyed learning from the entrepreneurs, the team at Impact Hub, and my SAP colleagues. Immersing myself in Brazilian culture, experiencing the vibrant atmosphere, and making new friends from around the world has been an unforgettable experience. This sabbatical truly offered a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to grow professionally and personally.

Out incredible Team of ImpactHub

A Grateful Heart

I want to express my heartfelt thanks to my wife Julia for her unwavering support, which made this experience possible. I also want to thank my Enterprise Analytics leadership team, especially my manager Rainer Kritzinger and our EA leader Pinar Doelen, for their trust and for enabling me to participate in this unique learning experience.

Looking Forward and Bidding Farewell

Four weeks initially seemed like a long time, but they passed in a flash. Even though I’m excited to return home to my family, I will always cherish this experience and wish Impact Hub all the best in realizing their project. As the saying goes, you always meet twice in life, and I hope our paths cross again.

All participants of the SAP Social Sabbatical 2024 in São Paulo and their host organisations

To my friends and colleagues following this journey, thank you for your support and interest. I hope our shared experiences and insights inspire you to embrace challenges, step out of your comfort zones, and seize the unique opportunities that come your way.

Até logo, São Paulo! Until we meet again!

--

--