Day 27: Departure

Tina Jerzyk
SAP Social Sabbatical
3 min readMar 3, 2018

I am not sure how a month has passed already. SAP Social Sabbatical has been a truly magical experience. I have made friends from around the world, got to make a meaningful difference for Vatsalya and their education mission, and enjoy the sites and sun — if not always the sounds — of India.

Only six of us remain from the original 11 today, but we made good use of our final day. Last visits to Anokhi Cafe and block printing shop, Tapri Tea House, the FabIndia store, Kantha bakery, and Molly Moo ice cream shop, plus a new adventure to Gatore Ki Chhatriyan royal mausoleum complex for female members of the royal family.

What a perfect last stop! Despite the Indian dance music we could hear from the street, the place was surprisingly quiet, and we had it nearly all to ourselves. While the photos make it look like a relic, the site is still active with the most recent royal female being buried there in 2009.

The first monument; Monkeys honoring our last day in India
My friends admire the view from the top; Another monument
Looking back toward the entrance; More monkeys

Taking Stock

While I look forward to seeing my husband, my family and my friends in Pittsburgh, I am still sad to be leaving Jaipur. I will miss the meaningful work with Vatsalya and their welcoming team, the wonderful food, the warmth and the sun, and the sense of adventure. My home in Pittsburgh will feel very quiet without 11 other friends to visit at all hours.

I will not miss the constant honking of car horns, the air pollution, the constant care about what’s safe to eat, the lack of consistent sidewalks or the morning call to prayer, which woke me up at 5:50 a.m. every day but two during the trip.

I am so grateful to SAP for giving me this amazing opportunity. Many of my colleagues found the trip challenging for many reasons, but I would do it again without a second thought. This has been the opportunity of a lifetime, and I will treasure my memories always.

--

--