Kigali Day Twenty Seven

SAP Social Sabbatical
SAP Social Sabbatical
3 min readSep 12, 2016

by aidanh@gmail.com on August 4, 2016

It’s done! The social sabbatical for 2016 in Kigali, Rwanda has officially come to a close. Our last deliverable was to present an overview of our project together with our experiences to the complete group including the other host organizations earlier today. Each group got to present the outcomes of their project, which was then followed by the host organization — detailing how they will continue what had been started. And while we prepare to head back home, it does not mean the engagement will end. Our team, in addition to the other groups, will likely keep in touch and lend a hand when asked. In the end we built pretty strong relationships with those we worked with and have a vested interest to see each project succeed.

Mark, Martin and Ulrike from SAP presenting their project with Partners in Health and GSK

During our debrief, once the presentations were finished, the SAP team was asked what their key takeaway is from the experience. A few answered and I wanted to express my own thoughts, but could not put in words what I was feeling. So much has happened in the last four weeks, that I think it will take some time to process it all. In many ways, what I experienced most at the time was relief. Relief that Coco, Shantanu and I delivered on our promise — one made without a plan on how we would get there, but rather a common optimism that with commitment and belief in each other, that we could make it happen. After our presentation, members from HeHelabs expressed their gratitude for our efforts with helping them reimagine what InventEd could become. It will be great to follow their progress on making InventEd a key contributor towards Rwanda’s efforts to drive ICT skills within the country’s youth.

We couldn’t possibly depart without leaving a remark on the HeHeLabs wall of inspiration)

With it being my first time on the African continent, I am grateful that I could spend this time in Rwanda. It’s the people that have had the biggest impact on me. Everything from all the time spent getting to know the team from HeHe, to the small interactions with Rwandan’s from all walks of life. Sometimes it’s just the little moments like yesterday, when I was walking back from the grocery store, a group of kids no older than eight strolled by and as they did, each gave me a high five. I have never experienced being in a place where I have received so many smiles, waves and hellos from complete strangers.

(This is a before and after photo of a street that was paved not far from where we worked. I bet if we get the chance to come back some time in the future, Kigali will look a lot different compared to today)

I have one last day in Kigali tomorrow and then I get to hop on a plane on Saturday, arriving back in Germany on Sunday morning. I got lots of hugs and kisses waiting for me upon my return which is good because we’ll have a whole month’s worth to catch up on!

I hope you have enjoyed reading this blog as much as I have enjoyed writing it. It rarely felt like a chore to put some thoughts together, especially with so much happening with a wonderful group of people I now call friends. The world is indeed a very small place.

--

--

SAP Social Sabbatical
SAP Social Sabbatical

A portfolio of short-term volunteering assignments where SAP employees work in diverse teams to solve challenges for NGOs in different markets across the globe.