Mbare

Caterina Taglienti
3 min readOct 8, 2019

--

I wanted to see the other side of the beautiful Harare. I was not convinced that the elegant buildings, the clean avenues, the Jacaranda trees and the posh compounds where the whole picture.

I had the chance to have this tour by a local tour operator, Tiritose, with a guide, Richard, that is actually one of the people that live there.

Dilapidated buildings covered by beautiful murals, no power, little water, crowded streets and disc antennas. A combination of sad reality and sparkles of energy and many example of pure resilience. Street markets full of bright artisans and witty businesses. A recording studio, totally in the dark, that gave birth to some of the most renowned reggae singers. A traditional doctor, healing many disease with his herbs and knowledge of the human nature. A segregated cemetery.

I felt like an intruder, although I was spurred by genuine interest.

Getting to know realities that are so far from me makes me consider once more how lucky I am just to be born where I was born. The rest is a consequence: I am where I am certainly because I did my best to get there, but my journey was far easier.

I hope I will manage to contribute a little to filling the gap between the extremes of this wonderful country.

--

--