Real time learning is intense but a million-dollar investment

Sabari Vasudevan
SAP Social Sabbatical
2 min readOct 14, 2018

My initial plan was to publish the next blog on my experience with my long weekend trip to the Amazon jungle but in the meantime something important thoughts came up within me that I would like to share with you all.

There are many instances where I went out of my comfort level these past two weeks in Quito where I am currently employed for SAP Social Sabbatical. It has been intense but I’m enjoying every bit, as I am a person who enjoys learning.

Right from Day One when I met my teammates, I realized that they have some impressions about me before I even met them, though it is kind of unusual for me to judge anyone over Skype or email. However, my ability to camouflage my nature according to the situation enabled me to work together and extend my hands for support rather than showing my leadership skills.

Secondly, when I realized that the YPD program run by Lab XXI Team has great potential to make changes in the society, I also realized that it needs a more structured approach and high collaboration in order to restructure and be effective. We are halfway through the program and have done tons of things to make it work so far. Valuing and respecting each other are keys to success when it comes to teamwork. It has a great place in this program especially since my core team comes from different cultures, experience and skill sets. The team has definitely raised the bar on this but we still need to walk faster in order to reach our destination as we have only two weeks to finish this project.

As it goes, my realization of who I am is getting clearer and I feel the necessity to spread the same energy across my team. It’s not always possible to understand how others feel about you or how you feel about others as this may slow down your pace. However, it’s important to extent your hands no matter how your team mate is, his/her cultural background or expertise and it is this facet which will make this special program from SAP beautiful, unconditional and enjoyable.

Tune yourself, more soon.

--

--