SAP Social Sabbatical completed — a moment to express gratitude and appreciation

Franziska Miller
SAP Social Sabbatical
2 min readMar 5, 2024

That’s it — 4 weeks of Social Sabbatical went by incredibly quickly and by the time I’m writing this blog I’ve already left Manila for some personal time off. I’ve decided it won’t be the last, but instead a short blogpost, reflecting on the experiences I’m grateful for, as well as expressing my appreciation.

Last week we focused on the completion of deliverables and handed over the results to the NGOs and SAP (scroll down for some impressions). Once more, I would like to express my gratitude to Bahay Tuluyan for their relentless commitment to support Filipino children’s rights, granting us access and insight into their organization and staff and sharing details in great transparency.

To be brutally honest, it has been another week of emotional ups and downs and a pervasive reminder to live life to best of our abilities at really any given point in time. In less than 24 hours we held presentations, cheerfully sang karaoke songs and tearfully said goodbye in the middle of the night. I’m beyond grateful for the friends I made along the journey and more importantly, I’m convinced to stay in touch with them.

I would also like to take a moment to thank SAP and my manager, one, for the trust and confidence presented to me but also for the amazing fill-ins who, by their persistent hard work, allowed me to detach from professional responsibilities completely. This way, I could bring my best self forward, be open for the good, the bad and the ugly and acknowledge, that this journey is not just about me.

But I also appreciate having been given the time to pause for a moment and reflect on the now. I would like to encourage everyone reading this to take a moment to reflect every once in a while. It might help you realize what really matters to you and why and vice versa, get clarity on what you do not want to prioritize any longer.

I am thankful for my subteam for presenting me different points of view (6 vs. 9) and pulling through uncompromisingly, no matter what was on the back of their minds.

A big thanks also to PYXERA Global and Local for the excellent organization, immediate support and perspective and to our drivers, not only making us feel like VIPs but also for ensuring we navigate Manila traffic safely.

And lastly, thanks to my friends back home who I could call any time to express my feelings and share my thoughts.

Now, expect some silence on this account and I might write another blog how SoSa impacted my professional life a few months from now.

SoSa Closing Event, Final Presentation at MGC, Jason & Joseph, best dirvers in down :)

--

--